Madison, WI Header
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 68920    Version: 1 Name: Honoring the University of Wisconsin Women’s Volleyball Team on winning the NCAA National Championship.
Type: Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 12/22/2021 In control: Council Office
On agenda: 1/4/2022 Final action: 1/4/2022
Enactment date: 1/10/2022 Enactment #: RES-22-00001
Title: Honoring the University of Wisconsin Women’s Volleyball Team on winning the NCAA National Championship.
Sponsors: Satya V. Rhodes-Conway, Syed Abbas, Arvina Martin, Christian A. Albouras, Brian Benford, Juliana R. Bennett, Sheri Carter, Nikki Conklin, Jael Currie, Tag Evers, Yannette Figueroa Cole, Grant Foster, Keith Furman, Gary Halverson, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Patrick W. Heck, Lindsay Lemmer, Charles Myadze, Michael E. Verveer, Regina M. Vidaver, Nasra Wehelie
Date Ver.Action ByActionResultAction DetailsMeeting DetailsWatch
1/4/20221 COMMON COUNCIL Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25Pass Action details Meeting details Not available
12/22/20211 Council Office RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC. ITEMS  Action details Meeting details Not available

Fiscal Note

[Enter Fiscal Note Here]


Honoring the University of Wisconsin Women’s Volleyball Team on winning the NCAA National Championship.


WHEREAS, the UW Women’s Volleyball team won the Division 1 NCAA National Championship for the first time in program history; and


WHEREAS, founded in 1974, the team has previously played in 3 NCAA National Championship finals in 2000, 2013 & 2019 losing in the finals to Nebraska, Penn State & Stanford, respectively; and


WHEREAS, this team included super seniors Dana Rettke, Sydney Hilley, Grace Loberg, Lauren Barnes and Giorgia Civita returning for a fifth year of eligibility because of COVID-19 for a chance to battle for the NCAA National Championship; and


WHEREAS, they were joined by Jade Demps, Anna Smrek, Julia Orzol, Devyn Robinson and Izzy Ashburn in making that dream come true when they knocked off unbeaten Louisville in five sets in the semi-finals on Thursday, December 16, 2021 and returned Saturday, December 18, 2021 to beat Nebraska in five sets which ran three hours and 14 minutes; and


WHEREAS, individual team members earned amazing honors such as Dane Rettke the 2021 National Player of the Year and the program’s first five-time First Team All-American, and Sydney Hilley honored as a two-time First Team All-American, and Anna Smrek named the tournament Most Outstanding Player; and


WHEREAS, the team was led by Head Coach Kelly Sheffield and assistant coaches Brittany Dildine and Gary White and additional team support staff athletic trainer Kristen Walker and strength & conditioning coach Kevin Schultz; and


WHEREAS, Coach Sheffield acknowledged that this team stands on the shoulders of the alums that have come before them; and


WHEREAS, the team has embraced their fans, the thousands who traveled to Columbus, Ohio to cheer them on including 8 year-old Izzie Eaton a young girl ‘adopted’ by the team after they helped celebrate her 6th birthday; and


WHEREAS, the team has some of the strongest support in college volleyball with screens at Union South, restaurants, local taverns and thousands of living rooms around the state tuned into the games this weekend, bringing Wisconsinites together to celebrate a deserving team; and


WHEREAS, thousands turned out for a welcome home celebration at the UW Field House after a parade of fire trucks lead the team to the event; and


WHEREAS, the entire Madison community joins together in showing their admiration, appreciation and even adoration for this team of strong women who have overcome adversities over the years of their college careers to emerge as National Champions; and


NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway and the Common Council are included with their thousands of fans in congratulating this team on their amazing accomplishment.