City of Madison, Wisconsin | Legislative Information Center
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 56677    Version: 1 Name: 8-6-2019 Resident committee appointments
Type: Appointment Status: Confirmed
File created: 7/10/2019 In control: Mayor's Office
On agenda: 8/6/2019 Final action: 8/6/2019
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 7/16/2019; action 8/6/2019).


Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 7/16/2019; action 8/6/2019).



I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.


*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents.

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "...provision shall not apply to a member of or candidate for appointment to a City of Madison board, committee or commission where, in the judgement of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of a non-resident member who is particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience with Madison business concerns or other Madison-based employers and the Mayor specifies fully to the Common Council the reasons why he or she is recommending such appointment."





MICHELLE A. DUNPHY (19th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Community Representative. Ms. Dunphy is a stay-at-home mom and active community member. She interned for Representative Lisa Subeck and advocated for gun violence prevention through Moms Demand Action. She is currently a member of Emerge Wisconsin’s Class of 2019. Ms. Dunphy succeeds Jean M. MacCubbin.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021





SABRINA V. MADISON (15th A.D.) - appointed to the position of Mayor or Designee. Ms. Madison is an entrepreneur, consultant and founder of the Progress Center for Black Women, whose vision is to “create more powerful communities of black women who are leaders, doers, and owners.” She currently serves on the board of the United Way of Dane County. Ms. Madison succeeds Peng Her.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023


*SETH W. LENTZ, Janesville - appoint to the position of Resident Member succeeding Pat Schramm.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022


Rationale: Mr. Lentz was recently named the Executive Director/CEO of the Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin (WDBSCW) succeeding Pat Schramm. The WDBSCW is a private, not-for profit organization charged with providing strategic & operational oversight to the workforce system in the six-county (Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson, Marquette, Sauk) south central region. Mr. Lentz previously served 14 years as the organization’s deputy director.





BRENDA K. KONKEL (2nd A.D.) - appointed to the position of Mayor or Designee. Ms. Konkel is a former alder, having served on the City’s Common Council from 2001-2009. She served 23 years as the executive director of the Tenant Resource Center. Ms. Konkel succeeds Debra F. Julian.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023



Respectfully submitted,


Satya Rhodes-Conway