

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 66389, Version: 1

Title

Presentation of the 2021 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Carmella Harris.

The Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies the Rev. Wright's dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values. The Equal Opportunities Commission has selected Carmella Harris as the recipient of the 2021 award.

Carmella has shown how she goes above and beyond to support the mental health needs of those in Madison to create a healthier and safer community. She is viewed by those who work with her, as a support person in times of crisis and a community leader who is committed to empowering others to be part of the solution. Carmella has worked tirelessly to serve the basic human rights of her neighbors while showing them enormous dignity and respect.

There are not enough words that can describe how Carmella positively impacts our community. With this award and for keeping in the tradition of what Reverend Wright stood for in our community, The Equal Opportunities Commission, Dept. of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division would like honor you Carmella, and say thank you for your compassion helping people get their basic human needs met. You are a champion in our community!

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013; Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014; Anthony Timmons, 2015; Annette Miller 2016; Brandi Grayson, 2019; and Tamora (Tami) Fleming.