

Legislation Text

File #: 65515, Version: 1

Fiscal Note

No fiscal impact.

Honoring the University of Wisconsin Women's Hockey Team on winning the NCAA Championship

Body

WHEREAS, the Badgers won the 2021 NCAA Championship thanks to a 2-1 overtime win over Northeastern as Daryl Watts scored, capturing their second-straight national title and the program's sixth national championship; and

WHEREAS, Wisconsin won its ninth WCHA Final Faceoff title thanks to a 3-2 overtime victory win over Ohio State as Lacey Eden scored the game-winning goal; and

WHEREAS, the Badgers also captured its ninth WCHA regular-season title and their second-straight league title thanks to a 12-3-1 record; and

WHEREAS, Daryl Watts and Grace Bowlby were both named first-team All-Americans by the American Hockey Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, Daryl Watts was named a top-three finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award and was named the WCHA Player of the Year and the WCHA Forward of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Daryl Watts earned first-team All-USCHO honors, Grace Bowlby collected second-team All-USCHO accolades, Sophie Shirley was named to All-USCHO third team and Lacey Eden was named to the All-USCHO rookie squad; and

WHEREAS, Mark Johnson was named the USCHO Coach of the Year, the WCHA Coach of the Year and became the first head coach in women's college hockey to capture six NCAA titles.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway and the Common Council congratulate the UW Badger women on their NCAA championship and commend the continued success of the UW women's hockey program.