

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 62929, Version: 1

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 11/17/2020; action 12/1/2020).

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS

AARON J. WILLIAMS (13th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of First Alternate. Mr. Williams is a licensed landscape architect and serves as an assistant campus planner and zoning coordinator for the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He succeeds Michael Culler who assumed a regular position.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021

MARIA R. DELESTRE (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Second Alternate. Ms. Delestre is a civil/environmental engineer and currently serves as a construction project manager with CG Schmidt Construction. She succeeds Sara Z. Walling.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021

CAPITAL AREA REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

ANTHONY GRAY - (7th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Mayor's Appointee. Mr. Gray is an attorney and former non-profit executive. He currently represents district 14 on the Dane County Board of Supervisors. Mr. Gray succeeds Ken Opin.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-1-2023

COMMITTEE ON AGING

BLINDA BEASON (18th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 3-1-2016.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2023

ALNISA T. ALLGOOD (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 6-7 -2016.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2023

YA CHEN (1st A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member (55+ Years of Age). Mr. Chen is a retired scientist/engineer/researcher. Currently he is a realtor in Madison. Mr. Chen is a co-founder of a Community-based Retirement Facility and a member of Sunshine Arts and Culture. He succeeds Kathleen M. Whitt.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2023

File #: 62929, Version: 1

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE

RACHEL E. JONES (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Minority Representative. First appointed 2-4-2020

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2023

OUSMAN DARBOE (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Low/Moderate Income Representative. Mr. Darboe is a financial specialist with the State of Wisconsin. He is involved with several groups including the Urban League of Greater Madison-Young Professionals, Progressive Turnout Project and the Madison-Kanifing Sister City Committee. Mr. Darboe succeeds Monya A. Choudhury.

TERM EXPIRES: 10/1/2023

RACHEL E. SATTLER (10th A.D.) - reappoint to a one-year term to the position of First Alternate. First

appointed 2-5-2019

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

BEN VAN PELT (4th A.D.) - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Second Alternate. First appointed 10-2-2012.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

CONSUELO LOPEZ (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Community Representative.

First appointed 3-29-2016. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2023

DISABILITY RIGHTS COMMISSION

SUSAN BALLIETTE (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Balliette is active with local organizations and her church. She has served on several committees including the Cable Regulatory Committee and Paratransit Oversight Committee. Ms. Balliette succeeds Jeffrey S. Buhrandt.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2023

DOWNTOWN COORDINATING COMMITTEE

GREGORY O. FRANK (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 2-22-2011.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-19-2023

TED CRABB (10th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 6-12-2012.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-19-2023

EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND EDUCATION COMMITTEE

CLAIRE E. LIND (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Specialist in Child Care Field. First appointed 12-4-2018.

File #: 62929, Version: 1

TERM EXPIRES: 9-30-2023

MYKENZIE L. LEMBERGER (20th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Child Care Worker.

First appointed 11-21-2017. TERM EXPIRES: 9-30-2023

MADISON PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

MICHAEL I. FORD (16th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. Ford is a licensed architect/designer/educator. He currently serves as the president of the non-profit organization, Urban Arts Collective. He previously worked with the City of Madison to host the Hip Hop Architecture Camps. Mr. Ford is a member of the American Institute of Architects and the National Organization of Minority Architects. He succeeds Joseph G. Rosas.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2023

JOLYNNE M. ROORDA (10th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Roorda is an artist and designer. She is co-founder and president of the non-profit organization, Arts + Literature, a community-based contemporary arts center. She is a member of the Midvale Community Lutheran Church Communications Task Force and served as the annual picnic coordinator for the Midvale Heights Neighborhood Association. Ms. Roorda succeeds Greg Dunkelberger.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

PUBLIC SAFETY REVIEW COMMITTEE

BRIAN D. BENFORD (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Alternate Member. Mr. Benford is a success coach & family advocate with the UW-Madison Odyssey Project. He is a longtime community activist and is a former alder, having represented district 12 from April 2003 - April 2007. Mr. Benford succeeds Gideon Amoah who assumed a regular position.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

DENISE N. JESS (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Jess is the CEO/Executive Director of the Wisconsin Council of the Blind & Visually Impaired. She has experience advocating on transportation-related issues at the state and local levels. She serves as one of three co-chairs of the Wisconsin Non-Driver Advisory Committee. Ms. Jess succeeds Jessica S. Piatt. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2023

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor