

Legislation Text

File #: 56877, Version: 2

Title

SUBSTITUTE: Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 8/6/2019; action 9/3/2019). **Please note change to the Transportation Commission appointments.**

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

COMMITTEE ON AGING

EILEEN MERSHART (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term and to a full three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Mershart retired as the chief executive officer of the YWCA Madison in 2011. She is currently a consultant working with non-profit organizations. She has been involved with numerous organizations including serving on several United Way committees. Ms. Mershart succeeds Paul H. Kusuda. CURRENT TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019 NEXT FULL TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2022

COMMITTEE ON SWEATFREE PURCHASES

THOMAS J. GUNDERSEN (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Alternate Member. Mr. Gundersen currently holds the Student Representative on the UW-Madison Labor Licensing Policy Committee position and has served since 1-16-2018. Mr. Gundersen succeeds Bryan J. Daggett.

TERM EXPIRES: 3-31-2021

LANDLORD AND TENANT ISSUES COMMITTEE

MEGAN D. OSOWSKI (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Council or Resident Member. Ms. Osowski is a case manager at UW Health. She previously held the Tenant Organization Representative position on this committee. Ms. Osowski succeeds Curtis V. Brink who assumed the Apartment Owners Organization Representative position. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

MADISON AREA TRANSPORTATION PLANNING BOARD (MPO)

MARGARET M. BERGAMINI (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Transportation-Related Member (Ms. Bergamini is also being appointed to the Transportation Policy & Planning Board). Ms. Bergamini is the transportation program advisor for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Associated Students of Madison (ASM). She previously served on the City's Transit & Parking Commission and Contracted Services Oversight Committee. Ms. Bergamini succeeds Ken Golden. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021

MADISON PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

JAIME HEALY-PLOTKIN (5th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 9-3-2013. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

CINDY L. FESEMYER (6th A.D) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 11-22-2016. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

JAIR ALVAREZ (1st A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 9-5-2017. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

Currently serving on: Overture Community Advisory Board

MADISON'S CENTRAL BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT (BID) BOARD

ALEX M. HIPLER (4th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of UW Associated Students of Madison (ASM) Representative. Mr. Hipler is currently a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison's School of Business. He also works as a teller at UW Credit Union. Mr. Hipler succeeds Malcolm C. Stern.

TERM EXPIRES: 1-18-2022

OVERTURE COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD

TONY J. CASTAŇEDA (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. First appointed 5-1-2018. TERM EXPIRES: 9-1-2022

JAIR C. ALVAREZ (1st A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. First appointed 7-10-2018. TERM EXPIRES: 9-1-2022

Currently serving on: Madison Public Library Board

APRIL C. KIGEYA (7th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. Ms. Kigeya is a special projects manager with Foundation for Black Women's Wellness. She serves on the board of Pathways of Wisconsin and is a member of the City's Affirmative Action Commission. Ms. Kigeya succeeds Leslee J. Nelson.

TERM EXPIRES: 9-1-2022

JONATHAN A. BIATCH (1st A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. Mr. Biatch is the rabbi at Temple Beth El in Madison. He succeeds David J. Kaster. TERM EXPIRES: 9-1-2022

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

File #: 56877, Version: 2

KENNETH M. STREIT (11th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 7-10-2018. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

ANJALI BHASIN (6th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Bhasin is a librarian and instructional technologist at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a member of the SASY (Schenk Atwood Starkweather Yahara) neighborhood association and serves as treasure of the Dane County South Central Library System Board. Ms. Bhasin succeeds Patricia A. Butler. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

JOSE (PEPE) BARROS HOFFENS (14th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Second Alternate. Mr. Barros Hoffens is an industrial engineer, coach and bike mechanic. He leads bike mechanic 101 classes and trainings in several neighborhood centers. He currently serves on the board of Madison Bikes, a local bicycle advocacy group. Mr. Barros Hoffens succeeds Gary L. Poulson. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

TRANSPORTATION POLICY AND PLANNING BOARD

BALTAZAR DE ANDA SANTANA (1st A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. De Anda Santana is the executive director of the Latino Academy of Workforce Development. He previously served as the Dane County Program Director for the Wisconsin Bike Federation. Mr. De Anda Santana is a member of the Latino Chamber of Commerce of Dane County and the Latino Children & Family Council. He succeeds Maurice C. Sheppard. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

MARGARET M. BERGAMINI (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of First Alternate. Ms. Bergamini is the transportation program advisor for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Associated Students of Madison (ASM). She previously served on the City's Transit & Parking Commission and Contracted Services Oversight Committee. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

BADRINATH (BADRI) LANKELLA (7th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Second Alternate. Mr. Lankella is a computer engineer and the president of BNLSoft Corp. Mr. Lankella has volunteered with the PTO at both Huegel Elementary and Toki Middle School. He recently ran for public office, vying for the open common council seat for aldermanic district 7. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2022

VENDING OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

RENA GELMAN (13th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member-Voting. First appointed 10-4-2016. TERM EXPIRES: 6-1-2022

JACK T. THURNBLAD (15th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Technical Advisor-Non-Voting. First appointed 8-7-2018. TERM EXPIRES: 6-1-2022

AARON D. COLLINS (12th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Technical Advisor-Non-Voting. First appointed 1-7-2014. TERM EXPIRES: 6-1-2022 MICHELLE L. QUIGLEY (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Technical Advisor-Non-Voting. Ms. Quigley is a jewelry maker/designer. She has been a city-licensed vendor since 2011. Ms. Quigley succeeds Maureen K. O'Grady. TERM EXPIRES: 6-1-2021

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor