

Legislation Text

File #: 56482, Version: 1

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 7/2/2019; action 7/16/2019).

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

ALCOHOL LICENSE REVIEW COMMITTEE

FERNANDO CANO OSPINA (18th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 9-16-2014. TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2022

BOARD OF REVIEW

PAMELA J. HENNESSEY (20th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a five-year term to the position of First Alternate. Ms. Hennessey currently holds an Adult City Resident position and has served since 3-6-2007. She succeeds Adetunji A. Lesi who assumed an Adult City Resident position. TERM EXPIRES: 4-21-2020

BUILDING CODE, FIRE CODE, CONVEYANCE CODE AND LICENSING APPEALS BOARD

JOHN P. STARKWEATHER (10th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Attorney. First appointed 5-7-2013. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

JIM GLUECK (5th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Architect. First appointed 4-17-2012. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

GAIL A. RUTKOWSKI (3rd A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Real Estate Broker. First appointed 6-6-2017. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

KELDA H. ROYS (10th A.D.) - appoint to a four-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Roys is the CEO and founder of OpenHomes, Inc. She served four years as a state representative in the Wisconsin Assembly and has served on numerous boards and committees. Ms. Roys succeeds Daniel G. Guerra. TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023

MARY STRICKLAND (19th A.D.) - appoint to a four-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Strickland is a financial advisor, working in the area of socially responsible investing, with Baird. She has

served on numerous boards and was a presidential appointee to the U.S. Small Business Advisory Council. She currently serves on the Madison Development Corporation Board of Directors. Ms. Strickland succeeds Dean Brasser.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023

Currently serving on: Madison Development Corporation Board of Directors

COMPLETE COUNT COMMITTEE

NINA D. GEHAN (16th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Gehan is the Development & Communications Director for Centro Hispano of Dane County.

DISABILITY RIGHTS COMMISSION

BETTY HICKS (12th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 4-17-2012. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022**

BELLA A. SOBAH (16th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 11-21-2017. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022**

KORY S. MACY (12th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 3-4-2008. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022**

EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION

AUTUMN N. NEUGENT (18th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Neugent is an advocate. She serves on the board of Common Wealth Development, was an organizer with the planning committee for Walk MS and was recently crowned Ms. Wheelchair Wisconsin 2019. Ms. Neugent succeeds Jose E. Rea. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2022**

ETHICS BOARD

JOSEPH B. BARING (17th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 9-1-2015. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022**

DREW COCHRANE (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 9-21-2010. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022**

HISTORIC PRESERVATION PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

RICHARD B. ARNESEN (4th A.D.) - reappoint to the position of Landmarks Commission Member. First appointed 2-6-2018. TERM EXPIRES WITH TERM ON LANDMARKS COMMISSION: 4-30-2022

Currently serving on: Landmarks Commission Madison Development Corporation Board of Directors

LANDLORD AND TENANT ISSUES COMMITTEE

CURTIS V. BRINK (19th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Apartment Owners Organization Representative. Mr. Brink currently holds a Resident Member position and has served since 3-5-2013. He succeeds Jill A. Severson. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

MATTHEW D. MITNICK (8th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Madison Area University/College Student. Mr. Mitnick is currently a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in Political Science. He worked for two-plus years with the non-profit, Westlake Action Team, organizing community events, including 30-plus for underserved youths. Mr. Mitnick succeeds Jacob E. Victor. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

Currently serving on: Joint Campus Area Committee (UW-Associated Students of Madison Representative)

SOONG KIT WONG (4th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Resident Member. First appointed 1-17-2017. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

BRIANNA K. KOERTH (4th A.D.) - reappoint to a one-year term to the position of Alternate Member. First appointed 3-19-2019. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

LANDMARKS COMMISSION

RICHARD B. ARNESEN (4th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 9-20-2016. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

Currently serving on: Historic Preservation Plan Advisory Committee Madison Development Corporation Board of Directors

PLAN COMMISSION

LEDELL ZELLERS (2nd A.D.) - will serve in the position of Mayor or Designee. Ms. Zellers is a former district 2 alder having served on the Common Council from 4/2013 to 4/2019. In that capacity, she served on numerous city committees, including the Plan Commission, Common Council Executive Committee and Transportation Policy & Panning Board. She succeeds Ken Opin. TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023

File #: 56482, Version: 1

ERIC W. SUNDQUIST (13th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. Sundquist holds a Ph. D. in City & Regional Planning and is a researcher with the University of Wisconsin. He previously served on the City's Plan Commission and Long Range Transportation Planning Committee. He also served for three years on the Decatur, GA Planning Commission. Mr. Sundquist succeeds James F. Oeth. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

JASON HAGENOW (13th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. Hagenow currently holds the Second Alternate position and has served since 1-17-2017. He succeeds Melissa M. Berger.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

Madison Metropolitan School District recommendation:

ANDREW J. STATZ (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a one-year term to the non-voting position of Madison Metropolitan School District Superintendent or Designee. First appointed 10-3-2017. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

ZOO COMMISSION, HENRY VILAS

JONATHAN BECKER (11th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Zoological Society Member. First appointed 6-15-2010. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor