

# City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 56187, Version: 1

#### Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 6/11/2019; action 6/18/2019).

#### **Body**

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

#### **ALCOHOL LICENSE REVIEW COMMITTEE**

AMY L. WESTRA (18th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Westra is an IT professional with American Family Insurance. She is active in local politics and has occasionally served as a poll worker. Ms. Westra succeeds Kathryn D. Hill. TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2021

#### **BOARD OF HEALTH FOR MADISON AND DANE COUNTY**

ROBIN L. LANKTON (11th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of City Resident. Ms. Lankton is the Director of Population Health for UW Health. She is involved with numerous organizations, including the African American Health Network of Dane County, the Latino Health Council of Dane County, the Wisconsin Public Health Association and the Healthy Dane Coalition. Ms. Lankton succeeds Murray L. Katcher.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-21-2020** 

#### **CITY-COUNTY LIAISON COMMITTEE**

(FOR INFORMATION ONLY)

MARY BOTTARI, Mayor's Chief of Staff - appointed to the position of Mayoral Staff Member succeeding Enis Ragland.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-18-2023** 

#### **COMMITTEE ON AGING**

BEN OBREGÓN (13th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member (55+ Years of Age). Mr. Obregón is a founding member of Centro Hispano of Dane County. He is active with numerous organizations, including serving as vice chair on the board of UMOS, a non-profit advocacy organization. Mr. Obregón succeeds Mary Jo Rimkus.

**TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019** 

#### **COMMITTEE ON EMPLOYEE RELATIONS**

HEATHER STOUDER - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Management Member. Ms. Stouder serves as the Planning Division Director. She succeeds Natalie Erdman.

File #: 56187, Version: 1

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2021** 

#### **COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT**

DEA LARSEN CONVERSE (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 8-7-2018.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2022** 

#### **DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE**

AMIT A. TRIVEDI (1st A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 10-16-2018.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2022** 

#### **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

(FOR INFORMATION ONLY)

LINDA VAKUNTA, Deputy Mayor - appointed to a one-year term to the position of Mayor or Designee succeeding Nicholas Zavos.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-21-2020** 

#### **MADISON ARTS COMMISSION**

ANNA T. JANUARY (2nd A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 6-19-2018.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022** 

YVETTE M. PINO (3rd A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 6-4-2013.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022** 

BETHANY M. JUREWICZ (2nd A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 10-16-2018.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022** 

TAELI S. T. REISTAD (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 1-8-2019.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022** 

#### MADISON FOOD POLICY COUNCIL

SARAH M. LARSON (19th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Larson is a program manager with the Food Finance Institute, a program of the UW System's Institute for Business & Entrepreneurship. She previously served on the City of Madison's Vending Oversight Committee and Public Market Development Committee. Ms. Larson succeeds Satya Rhodes-Conway.

**TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019** 

File #: 56187, Version: 1

#### MADISON'S CENTRAL BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT (BID) BOARD

HEATHER M. EWING (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of At-Large Central Downtown Representative. Ms. Ewing is a commercial real estate broker with a retail focus with White Box Commercial Property Group. She succeeds Kristopher M. Wachowiak.

**TERM EXPIRES: 1-18-2022** 

#### MONONA TERRACE COMMUNITY AND CONVENTION CENTER BOARD

M. ALICE O'CONNOR (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. First appointed 6-15-2010.

TERM EXPIRES: 5-1-2022

Currently serving on: Monona Terrace Booking Event Assistance Advisory Committee

MARK J. RICHARDSON (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of City Appointee. First appointed 6-4-2013.

TERM EXPIRES: 5-1-2022

#### PARK COMMISSIONERS, BOARD OF

VENUS D. WASHINGTON (16th A.D.) - reappoint to a five-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 3-7-2017.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2024

#### PERSONNEL BOARD

GARY D. MITCHELL (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Organized Labor Representative. First appointed 3-31-2015.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

ERICH J. GEORGE (14th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Qualified Elector. Mr. George is a human resources professional with the State of Wisconsin's Department of Administration. He is the president-elect of the Wisconsin affiliate of the International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR). Mr. George succeeds Judy J. Hughes.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

#### PUBLIC WORKS, BOARD OF

VALESE R. ADAMS (18th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 9-5-2017.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021** 

MICHAEL CULLEN (5th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of First Alternate. First appointed 1 -8-2019.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2021

File #: 56187, Version: 1

#### TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

CHRISTOPHER T. MCCAHILL (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. McCahill is a researcher currently serving as the deputy director of State Smart Transportation Initiative (SSTI) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is a member of the Transportation & Land Use Working Group for the Dane County Office of Energy & Climate Change. Mr. McCahill succeeds Ashwat Narayanan.

TERM EXPIRES WITH TERM ON THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY & PLANNING BOARD: 6-30-2021

### TRANSPORTATION POLICY & PLANNING BOARD

CHRISTOPHER T. MCCAHILL (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. McCahill is a researcher currently serving as the deputy director of State Smart Transportation Initiative (SSTI) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is a member of the Transportation & Land Use Working Group for the Dane County Office of Energy & Climate Change. Mr. McCahill succeeds Ashwat Narayanan.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

#### **ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS**

AGNES (ALLIE) B. BERENYI (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. First appointed 3-29-2016.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2022** 

ANGELA JENKINS (15th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Jenkins is a project manager with American Family Insurance. She currently serves on the boards of Olbrich Botanical Society and the River Food Pantry. She is the former president of the Lake Edge Neighborhood Association and ran for city council in the April 2019 elections. Ms. Jenkins succeeds Patrick W. Heck.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2021** 

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor