

Legislation Text

File #: 50388, Version: 1

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting committee appointments to the Landlord & Tenant Issues Committee and the Task Force on Structure of City Government.

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following committee appointments for introduction and adoption under suspension of the rules.

LANDLORD AND TENANT ISSUES COMMITTEE

MEGAN D. OSOWSKI (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Tenant Organization Representative. Ms. Osowski is a lead case manager at the Tenant Resource Center. She succeeds Cristina Lor. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2019

JACOB E. VICTOR (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Madison Area University/College Student. Mr. Victor is currently a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in Finance, Investment & Banking and Real Estate. He succeeds Soong Kit Wong who assumed the Alternate Member position.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

TASK FORCE ON STRUCTURE OF CITY GOVERNMENT

<u>Mayoral appointments:</u> ALD. PAUL SKIDMORE, District 9 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

ALD. SHERI CARTER, District 14 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

CATHERINE T.S. PATTON (9th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Mayoral Appointee. Ms. Patton has been a public educator for 25 years and is currently teaching history at Madison Memorial High School. She was recently named coach of the Madison Memorial girls' soccer team.

JOHN E. ROTHSCHILD (4th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Mayoral Appointee. Mr. Rothschild is a retired attorney who, from 2001-2007, held the position of chief legal counsel for the Wisconsin Department of Administration. He served as an assistant city attorney for the City of Madison for 23 years.

JERRY VANG (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Mayoral Appointee. Mr. Vang is currently a compliance specialist with Dean Health Plan. He is active with numerous organizations including serving as president of the Wisconsin Asian Bar Association.

Currently serving on: Madison Police Department Policy and Procedure Review Ad Hoc Committee

Common Council President appointments:

ALD. SARA ESKRICH, District 13 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

ALD. REBECCA KEMBLE, District 18 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

JUSTICE CASTAÑEDA (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Common Council President Appointee. Mr. Castañeda is the executive director of Common Wealth Development. He is a founder/volunteer of Carts for Community and works with at/in-risk youth through Briarpatch Youth Services.

MARGARITA I. NORTHROP (17th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Common Council President Appointee. Ms. Northrop is a Wisconsin Population Health Institute Fellow at the Wisconsin Division of Public Health, Office of Policy and Practice Alignment. She is active in her community and is currently working to bring social and public library services to low-income/homeless student families at Sandburg Elementary.

ERIC S. UPCHURCH (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the position of Common Council President Appointee. Mr. Upchurch is a strategic development consultant and community activist. He is the chief visionary for his consulting firm, Opportunity Inc. Mr. Upchurch served as the executive director of the Madison Black Chamber of Commerce and as a lead organizer for the Young Gifted and Black Coalition.

Mayor and Common Council President joint appointment:

EILEEN HARRINGTON (18th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Chair. Ms. Harrington is currently an adjunct associate professor in the Political Science Department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She served for 27 years at the Federal Trade Commission, retiring as its executive director in 2012. During her tenure, she was awarded the rank of Distinguished Executive and received the Service to America Medal. Ms. Harrington served as the chief operating officer at the U.S. Small Business Administration during the first two years of the Obama Administration.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul R. Soglin Mayor