

Legislation Text

File #: 49032, Version: 1

### Title

Report of the Mayor submitting committee appointments to the Oscar Mayer Strategic Assessment Committee.

## Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following committee appointments for introduction and adoption under suspension of the rules.

#### \*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "...provision shall not apply to a member of or candidate for appointment to a City of Madison board, committee or commission where, in the judgement of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of a non-resident member who is particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience with Madison business concerns or other Madison-based employers and the Mayor specifies fully to the Common Council the reasons why he or she is recommending such appointment."

# OSCAR MAYER STRATEGIC ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE

ALD. STEVE KING, District 7 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

ALD. LARRY PALM, District 12 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

ALD. REBECCA KEMBLE, District 18 - appoint to the position of Common Council Member. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2019

MAURICE C. SHEPPARD (15th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Mr. Sheppard is a political science instructor at Madison College. He served as a city planner for the city of Minneapolis and is a former member of the Plan Commission.

SYED M. ABBAS (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Mr. Abbas is a project manager at Seventhwave, a non-profit focused on advancing economic and environmental sustainability. He is the cochair of the Eken Park Neighborhood Association.

Currently serving on: Public Safety Review Committee Task Force on Equity in Music and Entertainment

SATYA RHODES-CONWAY (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Rhodes-Conway is the managing director of the Mayors Innovation Project. She lives in the Eken Park neighborhood and served as the district 12 alder for six years.

Currently serving on: Madison Food Policy Council

RENEE A. WALK (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Walk is the strategic health policy

#### File #: 49032, Version: 1

advisor for the Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds. She is a co-founder/organizer for Organizing for Strategic Action & Representation (OSCAR) group, a neighborhood organization focused on the Oscar Mayer property transition.

DOUGLAS LEIKNESS (16th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Mr. Leikness is the president of United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 538. He was employed with Oscar Mayer for 32 years.

KEN OPIN (18th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Mr. Opin is retired from the Wisconsin Federation of Teachers. He is the current chair of the Plan Commission.

Currently serving on: Plan Commission

CHANDRA MILLER FIENEN (6th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Miller Fienen is the director of operations & programs at StartingBlock Madison, Inc. She is a co-founder of FoodWorks, a community-service organization, and serves on the boards of several non-profit organizations.

ANNETTE M. GELBACH (17th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Gelbach is a co-founder and owner of Property Drive, LLC and Key Commercial Real Estate, LLC. She has been involved in commercial real estate for the past 30 years.

GARY J. WOLTER (14th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Mr. Wolter is the chairman of Madison Gas & Electric. Mr. Wolter serves on several boards, including the Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce and UW Hospitals & Clinics.

\*PAUL JADIN, Fitchburg - appoint to the position of Member.

Rationale: Mr. Jadin is the president of Madison Region Economic Partnership (MadREP). He previously served as the Secretary of Commerce and Secretary/CEO of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation. He is the former mayor of Green Bay.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul R. Soglin Mayor