

Legislation Text

File #: 45157, Version: 1

Fiscal Note No appropriation required. Title Awarding the Tenth Annual Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award Body [PREAMBLE]

WHEREAS, the Madison Common Council created the Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award in memory of Jeffrey Erlanger's great contributions to the city of Madison; and

WHEREAS, the Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award Committee has selected Torrie Kopp Mueller, an individual who shares Jeffrey Erlanger's dedication to, and passion for, civility and individual and human rights, as the recipient of the 2016 award; and

WHEREAS, Torrie has been an employee of the YWCA Madison since 1999, she has demonstrated passion for human rights and public advocacy, while working to eliminate racism and empower women; and

WHEREAS, she has worked to bring awareness, respect, and dignity to Madison residents affected by homelessness and continues to advocate for policy changes that de-criminalize homelessness; and

WHEREAS, Torrie demonstrates her passion for public advocacy and fostering successful working relationships that have resulted in effective outcomes that help sustain housing for Madison residents; and

WHEREAS, Torrie has decades of proven, effective service provision and a deep understanding of the needs of families who experience low-incomes or homelessness within the Madison community; Torrie never loses sight of the importance that building relationships and community collaboration is crucial for the continued success of her work towards housing as a human right;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Torrie Kopp Mueller has been chosen to receive the Tenth Annual Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that I, Paul R. Soglin, the Mayor of the city of Madison, Wisconsin, and the Madison Common Council support the recommendation of the committee and present this award to

Torrie Kopp Mueller, MSSW, CAPSW

and congratulate her on being the recipient of the 2016 award.