

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 34499, Version: 1

Title

Presentation of 2014 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Dr. Floyd Rose.

Body

Dr. Floyd Rose has been a leader and advocate in the African American and other communities of color for decades. Dr. Rose is President of the Wisconsin Supplier Development Council (WSDC), a nonprofit organization which supports and develops minority-owned businesses by facilitating important connections between corporations and minority suppliers of goods and services. Dr. Rose started the Wisconsin Supplier Development Council in 1984. Today, the Wisconsin Council's membership involves 200 major corporations and 500 minority owned businesses. In 1987, Dr. Rose was involved in the creation of the Business Management Seminar (BMS), an executive management symposium that has been exclusively tailored for the owners and executives of minority-owned firms. In his capacity as President of the 100 Black Men, Madison Chapter, University a Scholar and Consultant, Dr. Rose has advanced programs to enhance achievement in academics, economic empowerment, mentoring, health and wellness and racial parity in Madison and across the nation.

Dr. Rose is also the founder of the African American Communication and Collaboration Council and currently is a Board Member of Kappa Alpha Psi, the Center for Family Policy and Practice, the Boys and Girls Club of Dane County, and 100 Black Men Madison Chapter. He is a former member of the Edgewood Campus School Board of Directors.

Dr. Rose's nominator made this statement: "despite his considerable talent and achievements, Dr. Rose retains an air of humility and a spirit of cooperation in every endeavor. He is a deeply religious person who believes that his primary purpose is to serve others".

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012 and Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013.