

# City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 27658, Version: 1

#### Title

Report of the Mayor submitting citizen committee appointments (introduction 9-18-2012; action 10-2-2012).

## **Body**

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following citizen committee appointments. Committee applications for mayoral appointments are attached. Statement of Interest forms are on file for these appointees where applicable.

## **COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE**

BEN VAN PELT, 132 E. Wilson St., #1009, 53703 (4th A.D.) - appoint to a two-year term to the position of Low/Moderate Income Representative. Mr. Van Pelt served as an intern with the Wisconsin State Assembly, is a freelance writer for the Examiner.com and a manager at Wando's Bar and Grill. He succeeds Charles R. Sanders.

**TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2014** 

## **COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE**

TARIQ SAQQAF, 1048 Spaight St., 53703 (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Private Non-Profit Program Representative. Mr. Saqqaf formerly served as the Youth Programs Director for Common Wealth Development, Inc. He is affiliated with several organizations, including the Dane County Youth Resource Network and the Madison Skatepark Fund. Mr. Saqqaf succeeds De'Kendrea Stamps.

**TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2013** 

#### JUDGE DOYLE SQUARE COMMITTEE

BRADLEY A. CANTRELL, 533 W. Main St., #305, 53703 (4th A.D. - appoint to the position of Plan Commission Member.

Currently serving on: Plan Commission

Joint Southeast Campus Area Committee (Plan Commission Representative)

ANN E. KOVICH, 2605 Golden Gate Way, 53713 (14th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Transit and Parking Commission Member.

Currently serving on: Transit and Parking Commission

SANDRA TORKILDSON, 1214 Elizabeth St., 53703 (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the position of Economic Development Committee Member.

#### File #: 27658, Version: 1

Currently serving on: Economic Development Committee

Joint Southeast Campus Area Committee

ADAM J. PLOTKIN, 304 N. Pinckney St., 53703 (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the position of Neighborhood Resident. Mr. Plotkin is the Legislative Liaison for the Office of the Public Defender. He is the past president of Capitol Neighborhood, Inc. and is a member of the Dane County Emergency Medical Services Commission.

MEGAN E. CHRISTIANSEN, 115 S. Franklin St. #301, 53703 (6th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Neighborhood Resident. Ms. Christiansen is involved with Capitol Neighborhoods, Inc. and the First Settlement District.

ANNETTE MILLER, 2 Abilene Ct., 53719 (7th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Downtown Business Community Member. Ms. Miller is the Emerging Markets and Community Development Manager for Madison Gas and Electric.

## PEDESTRIAN/BICYCLE/MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

LYDIA S. MAURER, 1913 Shelley Lane, 53704 (12th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Citizen (Pedestrian Advocate). Ms. Maurer is a family childcare provider. She is a member of the Friends of Cherokee Marsh and the Berkley Oaks Neighborhood Association. Ms. Maurer succeeds Ron J. Prince.

**TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2013** 

## SOLID WASTE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

BRIAN C. DRISCOLL, 8201 Mayo Dr. #212, 53719 (1st A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. Driscoll is a Client Services Manager for the Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation. He succeeds Russell D. Pietz

TERM EXPIRES: 4-15-2014

### SUSTAINABLE MADISON COMMITTEE

ANYA M. FIRSZT, 2406 Center Ave., 53704 (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Firszt is the General Manager of the Williamson Street Grocery Cooperative. She succeeds Garrick R. Maine.

**TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2014** 

Respectfully submitted,

Paul R. Soglin Mayor