

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 16656, Version: 1

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting citizen committee appointments (introduced 12-8-2009; action 1-5-2010). **Body**

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following citizen committee appointments.

"Statement of Interests" forms are on file for those appointees required to file.

* 2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "...provisions of this section shall not necessarily apply with reference to membership on special study committees where in the judgment of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of certain nonresident members who are particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience..."

ADA TRANSIT SUBCOMMITTEE TO THE TPC

CARL DUROCHER, 1441 Williamson Street, 53703 (6th A.D.) - appoint to a two-year term to the position of General Representative or TPC Member. Mr. DuRocher previously served on this committee in the position of Transit and Parking Commission Member. He succeeds James Cobb.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2011

Currently serving on: Complete Count Committee

Dane County Specialized Transportation Committee (city rep)

ALCOHOL LICENSE REVIEW COMMITTEE

MARK D. WOULF, 505 University Avenue, #1206, 53703 (4th A.D.) - move from the position of ASM Student Council Chair or Designee and appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. TERM EXPIRES: 4-16-2013

ALLIED AREA TASK FORCE

SELENA PETTIGREW, 2305 Carling Drive, #8, 53711 (10th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Allied Community Resident. Ms. Pettigrew lives and volunteers in the Allied community. She is the Secretary of the Allied Dunn's Marsh Neighborhood Association, Secretary of the Allied Wellness Board, Welcomer, and Coordinator for Time Bank of Dane County. She succeeds Evelyn D. Burns, who moved out of the Allied community area.

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE

KEN W. PRITCHARD, 3525 Portage Road, 53704 (17th A.D.) - appoint to a two-year term to the position of Low/Moderate Income Representative. Mr. Pritchard is self-employed in financial services, and he is an advocate for people with disabilities. He succeeds Lina Trivedi.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

Currently serving on: Commission on People with Disabilities

Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award Commission

CONTRACTED SERVICE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE (for information only)

File #: 16656, Version: 1

City of Fitchburg appointment:

ALD. ANDREW POTTS, 2564 Chesapeake Drive, Fitchburg, 53719 - reappointed to a two-year term to the position of City of Fitchburg Representative. *First appointed 10-21-2003.*

TERM EXPIRES: 10-21-2011

CULTURAL PLAN STEERING COMMITTEE

LINDA BALDWIN O'HERN, 2930 Lakeland Avenue, 53704 (6th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Baldwin O'Hern is employed by Isthmus Publishing Company as Associate Publisher/Marketing. Currently serving on: Madison Cultural Arts District Board

DANE COUNTY REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY

STEPHEN J. HINIKER, 118 Bascom Place, 53726 (5th A.D.) - appoint to a four-year term to the position of Madison Mayor's Appointee. Mr. Hiniker is the Executive Director of 1000 Friends of Wisconsin. He has been involved in transportation policy for the past twenty years, including work as transportation policy advisor to Senate Majority Leader Joe Strohl (1988-1990) and Milwaukee Mayor John Norquist (1990-1996). Additionally, transportation policy is a key priority for his current employer.

Currently serving on: Capital Area Regional Planning Commission

Transport 2020 Implementation Task Force

SUSAN M. SCHMITZ, 210 Marinette Trail, 53705 (11th A.D.) - appoint to a four-year term to the position of Madison Mayor's Appointee. Ms. Schmitz is the President of Downtown Madison, Inc.

Currently serving on: Ho-Chunk Nation/City of Madison Joint Planning Committee

Ad Hoc Committee to Develop Strategic Parking Plan Central Park Design and Implementation Task Force

Zoning Code Rewrite Advisory Committee

Transit and Parking Commission

Contracted Service Oversight Subcommittee

EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND EDUCATION COMMITTEE

NICOLE K. ANDERSON, 415 N. Few Street, 53703 (2nd A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Day Care Service Consumer. Ms. Anderson has been a child care consumer since 2005, and she will continue to receive services until 2012 when her youngest child enters kindergarten. Through her personal experience as a child care consumer and her relationships with with friends who also use child care services, she has gained insight which will make her a valuable resource to the committee and a good representation of the child care consumer perspective. She succeeds Bev A. Willer.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2010

HEALTH BOARD FOR MADISON AND DANE COUNTY (for information only)

SUPV. DENISE DURANCZYK, 324 N. Sherman Street, Stoughton, 53589 - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of County Supervisor Residing Outside the City. Ms. Duranczyk is the Dane County Board Supervisor representing District 35.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2010

PARKING COUNCIL FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

JOANNE L. WAGNER, 4601 Windigo Trail, 53711 (10th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of

File #: 16656, Version: 1

Transit and Parking Commission Member or Citizen. Ms. Wagner had 43 years work experience in health care before she retired from the State Lab of Hygiene where she had been employed as a cytotechnologist. She has a State-issued handicapped parking permit and uses handicapped parking spots as available and as necessary. She succeeds William J. Tangney.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2012

PUBLIC SAFETY REVIEW COMMITTEE

MATTHEW J. PHAIR, 2322 Tanager Trail, 53711 (20th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Mr. Phair is a teacher in the Mount Horeb School District. He is a concerned, dedicated city of Madison resident who believes in the value of serving his community, and he is a member of the Meadowood Neighborhood Association Subcommittee on Meadowood Park.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2012

VENDING OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

* TERESA C. SCHWERIN, 44 Paget Road, Maple Bluff, 53704 - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Technical Advisor - Non-Voting. Ms. Schwerin holds a B.S. degree in Marketing from La Salle University. TERM EXPIRES: 6-1-2010

Rationale: The Vending Oversight Committee has never had an arts and crafts vendor as a member, either in a voting or non-voting position. Ms. Schwerin has been an arts and crafts vendor on the outer Capitol Square since 1998, so she will provide a fresh and important perspective to the committee. She is very familiar with the problems street vendors face and can provide insight into many of those issues, such as unlicensed vendors and loud music.

Respectfully submitted,

David J. Cieslewicz Mayor