

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 15868, Version: 2

Title

AMENDED - Report of the Mayor submitting citizen committee appointments (introduced 9-15-2009; action 10 -6-2009).

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following citizen committee appointments.

"Statements of Interests" forms are on file for those appointees required to file.

*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents.

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, " ... provisions of this section shall not necessarily apply with reference to membership on special study committees where in the judgement of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of certain nonresident members who are particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience"

ADA TRANSIT SUBCOMMITTEE TO THE TRANSIT & PARKING COMMISSION

RANDALL W. BARTELS, 3401 Maple Grove Drive, 53719 (7th A.D.) - appoint to a two-year term to the position of General Representative or Transit & Parking Commission Member. Mr. Bartels is a regular user of mainline and paratransit public transportation. He also has extensive work and volunteer experience involving disability-related issues.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-19-2011

(Mr. Bartels no longer wishes to serve on the ADA Transit Subcommittee to the Transit & Parking Commission.)

COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

DAVID WANDEL, 710 N. Meadow Lane, 53705 (11th A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Community Representative. *First appointed 11-19-2002.*

TERM EXPIRES: 10-01-2012

Currently serving on: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award Commission

COMPLETE COUNT COMMITTEE

2/3 vote required:

* DAVID A. SMITH, SR., 5820 Danville Rd., Fitchburg, 53719 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Faith Community Representative. Pastor Smith is employed by the South Metropolitan Planning Council as a Community Organizer.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

Rationale: The Complete Count Committee intends to bring together a broad group of leaders that represent diverse populations throughout our city to ensure that everyone in Madison and Dane County is counted in the 2010 Census. A native Madisonian, Pastor Smith has been active in community service, organizing and ministry for over 25 years, including serving as the President of the African American Council of Churches. He would provide a valuable connection between the committee and the faith community.

File #: 15868, Version: 2

ANNETTE MILLER, 2 Abilene Ct., 53719 (7th A.D.) - appoint to a one-year term to the position of African-American Community Representative. Ms. Miller is employed by Madison Gas & Electric as Community Services Manager.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

COMPLETE COUNT COMMITTEE (for information only)

Dane County appointments:

KOUA VANG, 2132 Fordem Avenue, 53704 (business address) - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Asian Community Representative. Mr. Vang is the Executive Director of United Asian Services of Wisconsin, Inc.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

PETER R. MUNOZ, 810 W. Badger Road, 53713 (business address) - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Latino Community Representative. Mr. Muñoz is the Executive Director of Centro Hispano of Dane County.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

WINNIE LOSENEGGER, 8762 County Road G, Mt. Horeb, 53572 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Towns Association Representative. Ms. Losenegger is the Town of Primrose Clerk.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

JULEE HELT, 500 W. Main Street, Waunakee, 53597 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Villages Association Representative. Ms. Helt is the Village of Waunakee Clerk.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

JOE CHASE, 923 Broadway Drive, Sun Prairie, 53590 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Cities Representative. Mr. Chase is the Mayor of the City of Sun Prairie.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

ROBIN SCHMIDT, 5606 Tonyawatha Trail, Monona, 53716 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of County Supervisor. Ms. Schmidt is the District 24 Dane County Board Supervisor.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

MIKE WILLETT, 7715 Midtown Road, Verona, 53593 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of County Supervisor. Mr. Willett is the District 32 Dane County Board Supervisor.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

NEIL HEINEN, 7025 Raymond Road, 53719 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Media Representative. Mr. Heinen is the Editorial Director of WISC-TV.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

DON HOFFMAN, 6230 Kuehn Road, Waunakee, 53597 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Rural Farms Representative. Mr. Hoffman is the Chair of the Town of Springfield.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

DON JOHNSON, 7106 South Avenue, Middleton, 53562 - appoint to a one-year term to the position of Dane County Schools Representative. Mr. Johnson is the Superintendent of the Middleton/Cross Plains School District

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2010

File #: 15868, Version: 2

DISABILITIES, COMMISSION ON PEOPLE WITH

VALERIE A. BROWN, 617 E. Dayton Street, 53703 (2nd A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Adult City Resident. Ms. Brown has experience working with persons with disabilities, including service coordination and advocacy, and she is familiar with the Americans with Disabilities Act and disability rights laws.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2012

DOWNTOWN COORDINATING COMMITTEE

DONNA V. HURD, 7482 East Pass, 53719 (7th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Second Alternate. Ms. Hurd is the Executive Director at Boardman Law Firm, LLP. She succeeds Steve J. Amundson.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-19-2010

Currently serving on: Affirmative Action Commission

Equal Opportunities Commission

STATE STREET DESIGN PROJECT OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE (for information only)

TPC Chair recommendation:

KENNETH M. STREIT, 210 N. Hillside Terrace, 53705, (11th A.D.) - reappoint to the position of Transit & Parking Commission Representative. Mr. Streit serves as representative of the Transit & Parking Commission. *First appointed 6-15-2004.*

TERM EXPIRES WITH TERM ON TPC: 4-30-2010

Currently serving on: Transit and Parking Commission

Ad Hoc Committee to Develop Parking Strategic Plan

Respectfully submitted,

David J. Cieslewicz Mayor