

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 78318 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Presentation Status: Presentation

File created: 6/12/2023 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 6/20/2023 Final action: Enactment date: Enactment #:

Title: Presentation of the 2023 Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison

Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) and the Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities

Division (EOD) to Emanuel Scarbrough.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result |
|-----------|------|--------------------------------|--------|--------|
| 6/12/2023 | 1 | EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION | Refer | |

Title

Presentation of the 2023 Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) and the Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division (EOD) to Emanuel Scarbrough.

Body

The Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright, who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies Reverend Wright's dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values. The Equal Opportunities Commission has selected Emanuel Scarbrough as the recipient of the 2023 award.

Emanuel's volunteer work at Wil-Mar Neighborhood Center helped lay the foundation for the Malcolm Shabazz High School. During Emanuel's service as Vice-President and President of the Dane County Chapter of the NAACP, he established a program that focused on placing African-Americans on Madison Advisory Boards and Commissions. In 2010, Emanuel was recognized by the Madison Police Department for creating a Communication Channel to encourage better relations between the police department and the community.

Emanuel has been a dedicated servant and member of Mount Zion Baptist Church for over 40 years. In 1999, Emanuel began working with Mount Zion's Genesis Development Corporation to educate youth and parents on the dangers of drugs and alcohol. His work at Genesis led him to become one of the few certified Prevention Specialists in Wisconsin, and to serve on two of the Governor's state committees addressing substance abuse. His dedication to preventing substance abuse, especially in underserved communities, led to his work with the Dane County Transition School.

Emanuel plays a significant role in the 100 Black Men of Madison's annual Back to School Celebration, Helping Those Who Help Others, and Christmas For Children With Responsibilities.

File #: 78318, Version: 1

Emanuel serves as a mentor and strong role model for many middle and high school students in Madison. Financial literacy is a passion of Emanuel's, and he chairs the *Hands on Banking* program and co-chairs the *Stock Market Game* to increase middle school students' financial literacy.

Emanuel Scarbrough's life has been a continual example of positively impacting many individuals, along with the greater Madison community. His warm, encouraging spirit belies a genuine desire to see others succeed, in spite of obstacles. Emanuel is and has been a dedicated servant to his family, friends, church, community, and city, ever since he arrived in Madison in 1967.

There are not enough words to describe how Emanuel Scarbrough positively impacts our community. With this award and for keeping in the tradition of what Reverend Wright stood for in our community, The Equal Opportunities Commission and Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division would like to honor you Emanuel Scarbrough, and say thank you for your compassion and for helping people get their basic human needs met. You are a champion in our community!

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013; Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014; Anthony Timmons, 2015; Annette Miller 2016; Brandi Grayson, 2019; Tamora (Tami) Fleming, 2020; Carmella Harris, 2021; and Wayne Strong, 2022.