

Legislation Details (With Text)

| File #: | 68671 | Version: | 1 | Name: | Awarding the 2021 STAJOH Alix Olson Award for the Promotion of a Tolerant and Just Community to the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County. | | |
|-----------------|--|----------|---|---------------|--|--|--|
| Туре: | Resolution | | | Status: | Passed | | |
| File created: | 12/1/2021 | | | In control: | Council Office | | |
| On agenda: | 12/7/2021 | | | Final action: | 12/7/2021 | | |
| Enactment date: | 12/13/2021 | | | Enactment #: | RES-21-00778 | | |
| Title: | Awarding the 2021 STAJOH Alix Olson Award for the Promotion of a Tolerant and Just Community to the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County. | | | | | | |
| Sponsors: | Satya V. Rhodes-Conway, Syed Abbas, Arvina Martin, Christian A. Albouras, Brian Benford, Juliana R. Bennett, Sheri Carter, Nikki Conklin, Jael Currie, Tag Evers, Yannette Figueroa Cole, Grant Foster, Keith Furman, Gary Halverson, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Patrick W. Heck, Lindsay Lemmer, Charles Myadze, Michael E. Verveer, Regina M. Vidaver, Nasra Wehelie | | | | | | |
| Indexes: | - | | | - | | | |
| Code sections: | | | | | | | |

Attachments:

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result |
|-----------|------|----------------|--|--------|
| 12/7/2021 | 1 | COMMON COUNCIL | Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25 | Pass |
| 12/1/2021 | 1 | Council Office | RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC. ITEMS | |

Fiscal Note

No fiscal impact.

Title

Awarding the 2021 STAJOH Alix Olson Award for the Promotion of a Tolerant and Just Community to the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County. Body

WHEREAS, the City of Madison Department of Civil Rights group Seeking Tolerance and Justice Over Hate, or "STAJOH," created the Alix Olson Award to honor retired Madison Police Detective Alix Olson and her leadership against hate in our community; and,

WHEREAS, the STAJOH Alix Award Committee has selected the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County, a group that exemplifies the values that are fundamental to this award and have been so admirably demonstrated by Alix Olson during her career and in her retirement, as the recipient of the 2021 award; and,

WHEREAS, the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County endeavors to develop promotional opportunities, share business development information with Emerging Small Businesses, implement policies that generate equal opportunities and fund community partners in equity, pushing toward economic prosperity for all; and,

WHEREAS, the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County strives to address past inequities by reviewing current fee structures and eliminating unnecessary penalties while providing improved

File #: 68671, Version: 1

access to services; and,

WHEREAS, the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County advises all County offices regarding policies in order to mitigate disparate impact, resolves discrimination complaints, certifies businesses, partners with other government stakeholders to review and develop equitable practices, studies hiring statistics and focuses on recruiting diverse candidates, ensures compliance with accessibility and accommodation standards, provides language interpretation and translation and serves as a resource regarding equity; and,

WHEREAS, the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County is dedicated to developing and ensuring inclusivity, equity and sustainability in order to make Dane County a better place to live and work by ensuring equal access to opportunity, hiring, contracting and service; and,

WHEREAS, the staff members of the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County, including staff members Wesley Sparkman, Theola Carter, Carrie Braxton, Joe Oby, Rodrigo Valdivia, Ellen Derge and Reyna Vasquez, including recent retiree Richard Johnson and recent former employee Azalea Perez, have worked diligently to address racial, gender and disability inequities in Dane County;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County has been chosen to receive the 2021 Alix Olson Award for the Promotion of a Tolerant and Just Community.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway and the Common Council of the City of Madison, Wisconsin, congratulate and thank the Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion of Dane County for all they have done, and continue to do, for our Madison community.