

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	59153	Version: 1	Name:	2-4-2020 Resident committee appointments	
Туре:	Appointment		Status:	Confirmed	
File created:	1/15/2020		In control:	Mayor's Office	
On agenda:	2/4/2020		Final action:	2/4/2020	
Enactment date:	:		Enactment #:		
Title:	Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 1/21/2020; action 2/4/2020).				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/4/2020	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Confirm	Pass
1/21/2020	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Confirm	Pass
1/15/2020	1	Mayor's Office	Referred for Introduction	

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 1/21/2020; action 2/4/2020).

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

CITY-COUNTY HOMELESS ISSUES COMMITTEE

JASON ILSTRUP (10th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Representative of Downtown Business or Community Organization. Mr. Ilstrup is the president of Downtown Madison, Inc. (DMI). He recently served on the City's Historic Preservation Plan Advisory Committee. Mr. Ilstrup succeeds Kristopher M. Wachowiak.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE

FELICA TURNER WALTON (10th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Low/Moderate Income Representative. Ms. Turner Walton is a claims adjuster with American Family Insurance. She is active with United Way of Dane County and is a graduate of the United Way Boardwalk Academy. Ms. Turner Walton succeeds Colin A. Bowden.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

RACHEL E. JONES (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Minority Representative. Ms. Jones is the Assistant Dean of Student Services for the College of Engineering, UW-Madison. She served three years with Teach for America. She was a graduate of the 2014 Leadership Pioneer Valley and is active with the March for Babies. Ms. Jones succeeds Keetra S. Burnette. **TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2020**

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DIVISION CONFERENCE COMMITTEE

Community Development Block Grant Committee recommendation: RACHEL SATTLER (10th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Community Development Block Grant Committee Member succeeding Keetra Burnette. TERM EXPIRES: 12-31-2020

JENNIFER CAMPBELL (11th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Community Development Block Grant Committee Member succeeding Ben Van Pelt. TERM EXPIRES: 12-31-2020

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

KARINA MENDOZA (13th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Mendoza is a bilingual financial educator with Dane County UW-Madison Extension. She previously served as a small business coach for the Latino Economic Development Center in Washington, D.C. Ms. Mendoza succeeds Mark R. Greene.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2022

PLAN COMMISSION

KEETRA S. BURNETTE (17th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a one-year term to the position of First Alternate. Ms. Burnette is the Director of Community Stakeholder Engagement with United Way of Dane County. She is a former member of the City's Community Development Block Grant Committee. Ms. Burnette succeeds James E. Polewski. **TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020**

SUSTAINABLE MADISON COMMITTEE

NADA A. ELMIKASHFI (11th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Elmikashfi recently worked for the Tony Evers administration, working on gubernatorial committee appointments. Prior to that, she served as a legislative fellow for Wisconsin State Senator Jennifer Shilling. She also served as chair for NextGen America, UW-Madison chapter, Ms. Elmikashfi succeeds Michael J. Vickerman.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

CASEY L. HANSON (11th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Hanson is self-employed as a program manager for Friends of Lake Wingra. She is a member of the Westmorland Neighborhood Association and recently served on the City's Solid Waste Advisory Committee. Ms. Hanson succeeds Bradlev Campbell. **TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021**

SUJATA GAUTAM (13th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Gautam is a full-time graduate student at Edgewood College pursuing a Master of Arts in Social Innovation & Sustainability Leadership. She served as an AmeriCorps volunteer through Vermont's Department of Environmental Conservation. She also served as a volunteer firefighter for Morrisville, VT. Ms. Gautam succeeds Richard A. Heinemann.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

HEATHER M. DRISCOLL (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Second Alternate. Ms.Driscoll is a master composter (having been certified by Dane County UW-Extension) and active community member. She previously served on the City's Solid Waste Advisory Committee. She succeeds Joseph M. Ryan.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2021

AVRA REDDY (8th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Third Alternate. Ms. Reddy is a philosophy major at the UW-Madison. She recently represented district 8 on the City's Common Council. She succeeds Jessica M. LeClair who previously assumed a regular member position. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2020

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor