

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	58244	Version: 1	Name:	12-3-2019 Resident committee appointments	
Туре:	Appointment		Status:	Confirmed	
File created:	11/13/2019		In control:	Mayor's Office	
On agenda:	12/3/2019		Final action:	12/3/2019	
Enactment date	:		Enactment #:		
Title:	Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 11/19/2019; action 12/3/2019).				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					

#### Code sections:

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/3/2019	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Confirm (with at leat 2/3 votes)	Pass
11/19/2019	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Confirm	Pass
11/13/2019	1	Mayor's Office	Referred for Introduction	

## Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 11/19/2019; action 12/3/2019).

## **Body**

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

## \*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents.

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "...provision shall not apply to a member of or candidate for appointment to a City of Madison board, committee or commission where, in the judgement of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of a non-resident member who is particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience with Madison business concerns or other Madison-based employers and the Mayor specifies fully to the Common Council the reasons why he or she is recommending such appointment."

# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE

MATT J. PHAIR (20th A.D.) - appoint to a two-year term to the position of Resident Member. Mr. Phair is a former alder, having represented district 20 on the Common Council from 2011-2019. He is a teacher with the Mount Horeb Area School District. Mr. Phair succeeds Daniel A. O'Callaghan. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

JENNIFER H. CAMPBELL (11th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Resident Member. First appointed 5-3-2016. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

RACHEL E. SATTLER (10th A.D.) - reappoint to a one-year term to the position of First Alternate. First appointed 2-5-2019

**TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2020** 

#### COMPLETE COUNT COMMITTEE

\*SHEESENPHOOYW MOUA, Fitchburg - appoint to the position of Member.

Rationale: Sheesenphooyw Moua is a community power builder/statewide policy advocate with Freedom, Inc. He is currently heading Freedom, Inc.'s Hmong census outreach efforts and is working with Freedom, Inc.'s Black and Khmer census outreach coordinators.

CORINDA RAINEY-MOORE (17th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Rainey-Moore is the community outreach and engagement coordinator with Kids Forward.

Currently serving on: Equal Opportunities Commission

#### JOINT CAMPUS AREA COMMITTEE

<u>Transportation Policy & Planning Board (TPPB) recommendation:</u> BADRINATH (BADRI) LANKELLA (7th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Transportation-related Committee Representative succeeding Jesse Kaysen. TERM EXPIRES WITH TERM ON TPPB: 6-30-2022

## LANDLORD AND TENANT ISSUES COMMITTEE

TRENT C. CLAYBAUGH (4th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Madison Area University/College Student. Mr. Claybaugh is a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, pursuing a joint master's degree in community economic development and urban planning. He succeeds Matthew D. Mitnick.

TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

#### MADISON METROPOLITAN SEWERAGE DISTRICT BOARD

For Information Only - Not Subject to Council Confirmation EZRA MEYER (13th A.D.) - reappointed to a three-year term to the position of Commissioner. TERM EXPIRES: 10-15-2022

#### PUBLIC SAFETY REVIEW COMMITTEE

MATTHEW D. MITNICK (8th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Resident Member. Mr. Mitnick is currently a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in Political Science. He worked for two-plus years with the non-profit, Westlake Action Team, organizing community events. He recently ran for the district 8 alder seat. Mr. Mitnick succeeds Syed Abbas. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2020

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway

# File #: 58244, Version: 1

Mayor