

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 55525 Version: 1 Name: 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National

Championship.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/23/2019 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 4/30/2019 Final action: 4/30/2019

Enactment date: 5/6/2019 Enactment #: RES-19-00328

Title: Honoring the University of Wisconsin-Madison Women's Hockey Team on winning the 2019 NCAA

Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship.

Sponsors: Satya V. Rhodes-Conway, Shiva Bidar, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Syed Abbas, Christian A.

Albouras, Samba Baldeh, Sheri Carter, Tag Evers, Grant Foster, Keith Furman, Patrick W. Heck, Zachary Henak, Rebecca Kemble, Lindsay Lemmer, Arvina Martin, Donna V. Moreland, Avra Reddy,

Marsha A. Rummel, Paul E. Skidmore, Michael J. Tierney, Michael E. Verveer

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/30/2019	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25	Pass
4/23/2019	1	Mayor's Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC. ITEMS	

Fiscal Note

No appropriation required.

Title

Honoring the University of Wisconsin-Madison Women's Hockey Team on winning the 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship.

Body

WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team won its fifth NCAA championship thanks to a 2-0 win over its arch-rival Minnesota in the 2019 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship; and,

WHEREAS, co-captain Sophia Shaver gave Wisconsin a 1-0 lead in the title game before fellow co-captain Annie Pankowski scored her team-high 28th goal to give UW a 2-0 lead; and,

WHEREAS, Kristen Campbell was named the NCAA Frozen Four Most Outstanding Player after not allowing a goal the entire tournament while leading the country in wins, shutouts and goals-against average; and,

WHEREAS, the NCAA title capped off an amazing year for the Badgers as they were ranked No. 1 for a majority of the year and finished the year with a 35-4-2 record and the WCHA Final Faceoff tournament title; and,

WHEREAS, the Badgers were led by a stellar senior class of Sophia Shaver, Annie Pankowski, Emily Clark, Maddie Rolfes, Sam Cogan and Mikaela Gardner; and,

WHEREAS, Wisconsin was also led by head Coach Mark Johnson, who became the winningest coach in UW

File #: 55525, Version: 1

athletics history during the 2018-19 season,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council congratulate the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger women on their 2019 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship and commend them for their continued success of the their women's hockey program.