

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	34612	Version:	1	Name:	Presentation of the 2016 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Annette Miller.
Туре:	Presentation			Status:	Accepted
File created:	6/8/2016			In control:	COMMON COUNCIL
On agenda:	6/21/2016			Final action:	6/21/2016
Enactment date:	6/23/2016			Enactment #:	
Title:	Presentation of the 2016 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Annette Miller.				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					

```
Code sections:
```

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/21/2016	1	COMMON COUNCIL	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO GRANT UNDER SUSPENSION OF MGO 2.055 - REPORT OF OFFICER	Pass
6/8/2016	1	Civil Rights Department	Refer	

Title

Presentation of the 2016 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Annette Miller.

Body

The Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies the Rev. Wright's dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values. This year marks the twenty -first annual presentation of the award. The Equal Opportunities Commission's Selection Committee has selected Annette Miller as the recipient of the 2016 Award.

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013, Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014 and Anthony Timmons, 2015.