

# City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 42487 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the 2015-2016 Madison Memorial

Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/19/2016 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 5/3/2016 Final action: 5/3/2016

Enactment date: 5/5/2016 Enactment #: RES-16-00320

Title: Congratulating the 2015-2016 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Sponsors: Paul R. Soglin, David Ahrens, Samba Baldeh, Shiva Bidar, Sheri Carter, Maurice S. Cheeks, Mark

Clear, Denise DeMarb, Sara Eskrich, Tim Gruber, Amanda Hall, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Rebecca Kemble, Steve King, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Marsha A. Rummel, Paul E. Skidmore,

Michael E. Verveer, Zach Wood, Ledell Zellers

Indexes:

#### Code sections:

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/3/2016	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt	Pass
4/19/2016	1	Council Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC. ITEMS	

### **Fiscal Note**

No appropriation required.

#### Title

Congratulating the 2015-2016 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the WIAA Division 1 State Title.

## **Body**

WHEREAS, the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming and diving team capped off an undefeated 2015-16 season by capturing the school's sixth straight and 16th overall WIAA Division 1 State Title, the most state meet championships of all-time; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans won following a commanding performance that earned them first-place honors with 314 points from 11 Spartan swimmers and divers; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans performances were led by seven seniors, Ben Gebhart, Calvin Jensen, Baird Miller, Elliot Patterson, Riley Patton, Rory Sanchez & Justin Temprano; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans were well-served by Justin Temprano, winning the 100-yard backstroke for the third consecutive year with a time of 49.49; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans, for a sixth year in a row, claimed victory in the 200 Yard Medley Relay, while winning the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay for the fifth consecutive year and also winning the 400 free relay; and,

## File #: 42487, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the Spartans were ably led to the team championship by Coach Paul Eckerle and his Assistant Coaches, Ben Anderson, Karl Richters and diving coach, Phil Lyons;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council congratulates Coach Paul Eckerle, Coach Ben Anderson, Coach Karl Richters, Diving Coach Phil Lyons and the entire Spartan boys swimming and diving team on their successful season and Division 1 State Championship, adding another banner to the pool wall; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council recognizes the support of the parents, Spartan boys swimming and diving team, student body, and all Spartan fans during the championship season.