

# City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 38643 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the 2014-2015 Madison Memorial

Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 5/27/2015 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

**On agenda:** 6/16/2015 **Final action:** 6/16/2015

Enactment date: 6/19/2015 Enactment #: RES-15-00510

Title: Congratulating the 2014-2015 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Sponsors: Mark Clear, Paul R. Soglin, Denise DeMarb, Maurice S. Cheeks, David Ahrens, Samba Baldeh, Shiva

Bidar, Sheri Carter, Sara Eskrich, Amanda Hall, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Rebecca Kemble, Steve King, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Marsha A. Rummel, Chris Schmidt, Paul E. Skidmore,

Michael E. Verveer, Zach Wood, Ledell Zellers

Indexes:

#### Code sections:

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/16/2015	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt	Pass
6/2/2015	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Adopt	Pass
5/27/2015	1	Council Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC. ITEMS	

### **Fiscal Note**

No appropriation required.

#### Title

Congratulating the 2014-2015 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the WIAA Division 1 State Title.

#### **Body**

WHEREAS the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming and diving team capped off an undefeated 2014-15 season by capturing the school's fifth straight and 15th overall WIAA Division 1 State Title, which ties the most state meet championships all-time; and,

WHEREAS the Spartans won following a commanding performance that earned them first-place honors with 350.5 points from 13 Spartan swimmers and divers; and,

WHEREAS the Spartans performances were led by a quintet of seniors, Ryan Henry, Amos Kaldor, Ryan Menninga, Alex Peterson-Weber and Nate Swanson, with Peterson-Weber finishing as co- 50-yard free champion in a time of 21.00; and,

WHEREAS the Spartans were well-served by repeat championship performances by Juniors Ben Gebhart, winning the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 49.70, and Justin Temprano, winning the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 49.88; and,

File #: 38643, Version: 1

WHEREAS the Spartans, for a fourth year in a row, claimed victories in the 200 Yard Medley Relay and the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay. Breaking a ten year-old record in the 200 yard Medley Relay with a time of 1:33.06 and just missing the state record in the 200 yard Freestyle Relay with a winning time of 1:24.45; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans were ably led to the team championship by Coach Paul Eckerle and his Assistant Coaches, Karl Richters and Michael Drives, all former Spartan state champions in their own right,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council congratulates Coach Paul Eckerle, Coach Karl Richters, Coach Michael Drives, Diving Coach Phil Lyons and the entire Spartan boys swimming and diving team on their successful season and Division 1 State Championship, adding another banner to the pool wall; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council recognizes the support of the parents, Spartan boys swimming and diving team, student body, and all Spartan fans during the championship season.