

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 31746 Version: 1 Name: Bring Your Meeting Home Appreciation Program

Recognition

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 9/25/2013 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 11/19/2013 **Final action:** 11/19/2013

Title: Bring Your Meeting Home Appreciation Program

Sponsors: Paul R. Soglin, Shiva Bidar, Chris Schmidt, Mark Clear, Sue Ellingson, Lauren Cnare, Scott J.

Resnick, John Strasser, Michael E. Verveer, Anita Weier, Joseph R. Clausius

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result |
|------------|------|----------------|---|--------|
| 11/19/2013 | 1 | COMMON COUNCIL | Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25 | Pass |
| 11/13/2013 | 1 | Mayor's Office | RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - REPORT OF OFFICER | |

Fiscal Note

No appropriation is required.

Title

Bring Your Meeting Home Appreciation Program

Body

WHEREAS, the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Madison Area Sports Commission's Annual Bring Your Meeting Home Appreciation Program is recognizing the significant contributions of 37 local citizens who have helped to bring their meetings, conventions and events to the Madison area; and

WHEREAS, tourism contributes over \$1 Billion every year to the Madison area's economy, benefitting local businesses, the city and its citizens; and

WHEREAS, these local contacts' contributions have helped the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau deliver more than \$20 Million in economic impact to our city; and,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor of the City of Madison and the Common Council hereby recognizes the following local citizens for their role bringing meetings, conventions and events home to Madison, Wisconsin; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this proclamation be presented to Deb Archer, President and CEO of the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau and the following honorees, as a token of the esteem in which they are held: Karen Andriacchi; Dawn Aspenson Zanoni; Bill Babcock; Jean Bahr; Kristen Bernard, PhD; Amanda Bradley; Kerrie Brey; Ellsworth Brown; Reggie Driscoll; Heather Dyer; Stefanie Elder; Nancy Freeman; Marc Herstand; Scott Johnson; Robert Kalejta, PhD; Rita Kelliher; Lisa Koenecke; Jennifer Lanzel; Scott McDonnell; Chris Olig; Mary Orella; Penny Paster; Keith Peterson; Jenifer Remsik; Carrie Rhoads; Ryan Richards; Molly Ritchie; Shannon Schlueter; Dan Schroeder; Sandra Smith; Kathy

File #: 31746, Version: 1

Sommervold; David Thomas; Patti Thompson; John Umhoefer; Dave Wollin and Kelly Zylstra.