

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 31089 Version: 1 Name: Thanking the Cultural Plan Steering Committee

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 7/30/2013 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 9/3/2013 **Final action:** 9/3/2013

Enactment date: 9/5/2013 Enactment #: RES-13-00691

Title: Thanking the Cultural Plan Steering Committee and thanking its members, staff and supporters for

their work.

Sponsors: Michael E. Verveer, Ledell Zellers, Joseph R. Clausius

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/3/2013	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt	Pass
8/6/2013	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Adopt	Pass
8/6/2013	1	Department of Planning and Community and Economic Development	Referred for Introduction	

Fiscal Note

There is no fiscal impact associated with the dissolution of the Cultural Plan Steering Committee.

Title

Thanking the Cultural Plan Steering Committee and thanking its members, staff and supporters for their work.

Body

WHEREAS, the Common Council passed Resolution File I.D. 14910 on June 17, 2009 establishing a Steering Committee to guide consultant Mary Berryman-Agard and ensure broad participation and acceptance of the City's first Cultural Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Cultural Plan Steering Committee guided and informed the preparation of the report for four years; and

WHEREAS, the Common Council adopted Resolution File I.D. 24233 Adopting the Madison Cultural Plan on August 6, 2013.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and the Common Council thank Mary Berryman-Agard for providing her expertise and vision in creating the City's first Cultural Plan.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and the Common Council thank the members of the Cultural Plan Steering Committee (past and present) for their work and dedication to this project:

Alder Marsha Rummel

Former Alder Satya Rhodes Conway

Anne Katz, Chair

Fabu Carter-Brisco, Vice Chair

Nick Andreano Allen Arntsen

File #: 31089, Version: 1

Veronica Delcourt

Cathy Dethmers

Patty Elson

Steven Goldberg

Ed Linville

Oscar Mireles

Linda Baldwin O'Hern

Georgene Pomplun

Bob Sorge

Jason Tish

David Wells

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council thank the Members of the Madison Arts Commission (past and present) who conceived of this planning process and gathered the resources to begin it. They are:

Alder Marsha Rummel

Former Alder Satya Rhodes Conway

Anthony Lamarr Brown II

Patty Elson

Briony Jean Foy

Thomas Farley

Kia Karlen

Celia Klehr

Emily Luker

Leslee Nelson

José Madera

John Nicholas Schweitzer

Norma Sober

Chris Taylor

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council thank the many citizens who participated in interviews, roundtables, discussion meetings, focus groups and public meetings that drove the shape and content of the plan.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that oversight of implementing the 2013 Madison Cultural Plan be delegated to the Madison Arts Commission.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Mayor and the Common Council do hereby dissolve the Cultural Plan Steering Committee.