

# City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 26144 Version: 1 Name: Recognizing local citizens for their role in bringing

meetings, conventions and events home to

Madison, Wisconsin,

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/24/2012 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

**On agenda:** 5/1/2012 **Final action:** 5/1/2012

Enactment date: 5/2/2012 Enactment #: RES-12-00276

Title: Recognizing local citizens for their role in bringing meetings, conventions and events home to

Madison, Wisconsin.

Sponsors: Paul R. Soglin, Shiva Bidar, Chris Schmidt, Tim Bruer, Joseph R. Clausius, Mark Clear, Lauren Cnare,

Sue Ellingson, Jill Johnson, Steve King, Bridget R. Maniaci, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Scott J. Resnick, Satya V. Rhodes-Conway, Marsha A. Rummel, Paul E. Skidmore, Brian L. Solomon, Lisa

Subeck, Michael E. Verveer, Anita Weier

Indexes:

#### **Code sections:**

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/1/2012	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25	Pass
4/24/2012	1	Mayor's Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC, ITEMS	

#### Fiscal Note

No appropriation required.

Title

Recognizing local citizens for their role in bringing meetings, conventions and events home to Madison, Wisconsin.

Body

WHEREAS, the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau's Annual Bring Your Meeting Home Appreciation Program is recognizing the significant contributions of fifty local citizens who have helped to bring their meetings, conventions and events to the Madison area; and

WHEREAS, tourism contributes over \$1 Billion every year to the Madison area's economy, benefitting local businesses, the city and its citizens; and

WHEREAS, these local contacts' contributions have helped the Greater Madison Convention & Visitors Bureau deliver more than \$24 Million in economic impact to our city.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the City of Madison and the City Council hereby recognizes the following local citizens for their role bringing meetings, conventions and events home to Madison, Wisconsin.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to Deb Archer, President/CEO of the Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau, and the following honorees, as a token of the esteem in which they are held:

### File #: 26144, Version: 1

Justin Alling Anthony Auger Lani Becker Kerrie Brey Laurie Frank Skip Heffernan Laura Hoepker Nicole Jacobson Jingshan Li Mike Nietman Kathy Ottem Barb Pulver Catherine Reiland **Dorothy Ruff** Trey Sprinkman Thad Walker Shane Eith **Dolores Kokinos** 

Karen Andriacchi Matt Andrzejewski Bill Babcock Bill Barron Kristen Bernard Riccardo Bonazza Jim Claus Heather Dyer Megan Goldberg Jackie Gehin Michelle Hird Jack Hirt Frances Huntley-Cooper Greg Hyer Noreen Krueger Megan Leadholm Kris Metzger Ralph Middlecamp Ann O'Brien Mary Orella Frank E. Pfefferkorn Mary Price Marge Pursell Kathy Raab Denny Roark Shelby Richardson Theresa Sanders Tom Schuler Michelle TerMaat-McGrath Patti Thompson Chris Wilkins Joy Zedler

Glen Johnson

Larry Hindel