

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 25070 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the University of Wisconsin Football

Team for its 2011 Season.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 1/11/2012 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 1/17/2012 Final action: 1/17/2012

Enactment date: 1/18/2012 Enactment #: RES-12-00032

Title: Congratulating the University of Wisconsin Football Team for its 2011 Season.

Sponsors: Paul R. Soglin, Shiva Bidar, Tim Bruer, Joseph R. Clausius, Mark Clear, Lauren Cnare, Sue Ellingson,

Jill Johnson, Steve King, Bridget R. Maniaci, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Scott J. Resnick, Satya V. Rhodes-Conway, Marsha A. Rummel, Chris Schmidt, Paul E. Skidmore, Brian L. Solomon, Lisa

Subeck, Michael E. Verveer, Anita Weier

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result	
1/17/2012	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25	Pass	
1/11/2012	1	Council Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC, ITEMS		

Fiscal Note

No appropriation required.

Title

Congratulating the University of Wisconsin Football Team for its 2011 Season.

Body

WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin Football Team finished the 2011 season with an 11-3 record, earning their second straight Big Ten Championship, and their second straight Rose Bowl appearance, and;

WHEREAS, the Badgers finished as the first-ever champion of the Big Ten Conference-Leaders Division, and;

WHEREAS, the Badgers defeated the Michigan State Spartans 42-39 in the first ever Big Ten Championship Game, en route to their second straight Big Ten Championship, and;

WHEREAS, seventeen Wisconsin players were distinguished with Academic All-Big Ten Honors, and;

WHEREAS, Monte Ball was honored by being named the 2011 Big Ten Running Back of the year and a finalist for the 2011 Heisman Trophy, and;

WHEREAS, Monte Ball, Peter Konz, and Kevin Zeitler were honored by being named to the 2011 All-American Collegiate Football Team, and;

WHEREAS, Russell Wilson was honored by being named the 2011 Big Ten Quarterback of the Year, and;

WHEREAS, a record nine Wisconsin players earned first-team honors on either the coaches' or media's All-Big Ten squad, and; File #: 25070, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the Badgers finished a perfect 7-0 at Camp Randall Stadium, and;

WHEREAS, the Mayor and Common Council recognize the dedicated support of the parents, alumni, student body, and all Badger fans during its championship season,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council hereby congratulate Coach Bret Bielema, his assistant coaches, and the entire 2011 University of Wisconsin Football Team on their successful season, Big Ten Championship, and Rose Bowl appearance.