

Legislation Text

File #: 09285, Version: 2

Title

AMENDED - Report of the Mayor recommending adoption of the alder and citizen appointments to the Zoning Code Rewrite Advisory Committee.

Body

At the February 5 Council meeting, the following committee appointments were introduced to the Council and referred back to the Mayor's Office. The Alder appointments were contained in Report, ID 08988; the citizen appointments were included in Report, ID 08828. Both alder and citizen appointments have been consolidated into this report.

ZONING CODE REWRITE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents.

Pursuant to Sec. 3.27(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "... provisions of this section shall not necessarily apply with reference to membership on special study committees where in the judgment of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of certain nonresident members who are particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience"

Common Council Members (3):

ALD. TIM GRUBER, District 11.

ALD. SATYA RHODES-CONWAY, District 12.

ALD. JULIA KERR, District 13.

Commission Members:

Plan Commission Members (2):

ALD. LAUREN CNARE, District 3.

NAN FEY, 2027 Chadbourne Ave., 53726-4046 (5th A.D.) - Ms. Fey is chair of the Plan Commission.

Currently serving on: Plan Commission Community Gardens Committee (Plan Comm. Rep.) Inclusionary Zoning Oversight Committee (Plan Comm. Rep) Joint West Campus Area Committee (Plan Comm. Rep.)

Landmarks Commission Member (1):

DANIEL J. STEPHANS, 6507 Raymond Rd., 53711-3903 (20th A.D.) - Mr. Stephans is a member of the

Landmarks Commission.

Currently serving on: Landmarks Commission

Urban Design Commission Member (1):

LOU HOST-JABLONSKI, 30 Lansing St., 53714 (15th A.D.) - Mr. Host-Jablonski is chair of the Urban Design Commission.

Currently serving on: Urban Design Commission Sustainable Design & Energy Commission Garver Building Reuse Committee

Zoning Board of Appeals Member (1):

DIANE L. MILLIGAN, 1142 E. Gorham St., 53703-1610 (2nd A.D.) - Ms. Milligan is a member of the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Currently serving on: Zoning Board of Appeals

Alternate Commission Member (1):

MICHAEL A. BASFORD, 1917 Schlimgen Ave., 53704-4021 (12th A.D.) - Mr. Basford is a member of the Plan Commission.

Currently serving on: Plan Commission Zoning Board of Appeals Long Range Transportation Planning Commission (Plan Comm. Mbr.)

Representatives of Neighborhood Associations (4):

SHERI CARTER, 3009 Ashford La., 53713-2929 (14th A.D.) - Ms. Carter is an administrative assistant for the Wisconsin Supreme Court-Office of Lawyer Regulation. She is the President of the Arbor Hills Neighborhood Association and currently serves as chair of the South Metropolitan Planning Council.

RANDALL L. GLYSCH, 1010 Grover St., 53704 (15th A.D.) - Mr. Glysch is a research scientist with the State of Wisconsin. He is president of the Carpenter-Ridgeway Neighborhood Association and has served for 10 of the last 12 years. He served 2 years as vice president.

GARY L. POULSON, 637 Charles La., 53711 (20th A.D.) - Mr. Poulson is a former Common Council member. He is a long-standing board member of the Midvale Heights Community Association.

Currently serving on: Transit and Parking Commission Ad Hoc Committee to Develop Parking Strategic Plan Long Range Metro Transit Planning Ad Hoc Committee

Note: Ledell Zellers's name is being submitted for introduction on Feb. 26 and referral to the March 4 Council

for action.

Alternates (3):

First Alternate:

AMY E. ROUNTREE, 1315 Hoven Ct., 53715 (13th A.D.) - Ms. Rountree is a member of the Greenbush neighborhood. She was active in working on the neighborhood plan. She facilitated the neighborhood association for several years.

Currently serving on: Joint West Campus Area Committee

Note: Two <u>The second and third</u> alternate neighborhood association representative positions remain to be filled.

Builders, not-for-profit housing providers, developers or business groups (3):

JANIS G. REEK, 2214 Lakeland Ave., 53704 (6th A.D.) - Ms. Reek is program manager for Project Home. She supervises the operations of Project Home's rental properties and manages the weatherization and home repair programs. She serves as a board member of the Rodney Scheel Housing, housing for people disabled by HIV/AIDS.

*CAROLE J. SCHAEFFER, 282 Alpine Meadow Cir. Oregon 53575 - Ms. Schaeffer is executive director of Smart Growth Madison, Inc. She is active in Downtown Madison, Inc. and several of its committees. She is a member of MAGNET and serves on the professional development committee.

Rationale: Ms. Schaeffer is a regional representative of the development community.

SUSAN M. SCHMITZ, 210 Marinette Trail, 53705 (11th A.D.) - Ms. Schmitz is president of Downtown Madison, Inc.

Currently serving on: Central Park Design and Implementation Task Force Ad Hoc Committee to Develop Parking Strategic Plan Platinum Biking City Planning Committee

Planners, designers or preservationists (3):

MICHAEL A. SLAVNEY, 4824 Sherwood Rd., 53711 (20th A.D.) - Mr. Slavney is employed by Vandewalle & Associates as a growth management consultant. He has 25 years of experience writing zoning ordinances and zoning maps.

KEVIN R. POMEROY, 4129 Iroquois Dr., 53711-3743 (10th A.D.) - Mr. Pomeroy is an urban and regional planner. He has 20 years experience of academic and professional experience in community development, downtown revitalization and urban planning.

D. KEN SAIKI, 3042 Interlaken Pass, 53719 (7th A.D.) - Mr. Saiki is a landscape architect for Ken Saiki Design, Inc. He has been practicing in the city of Madison for almost 30 years. He is a former member of the Urban Design Commission

<u>Alternates - builders/providers/developers/business groups and planners/designers/preservationists</u> (3):

First Alternate:

DAVID C. PORTERFIELD, 4110 ½ Maher Ave., 53716 (15th A.D.) - Mr. Porterfield has extensive experience in affordable housing development and policy.

Currently serving on: Housing Committee

Second Alternate:

*LANCE T. MCGRATH, 3849 Caribou Rd., Verona 53593 - Mr. McGrath is a real estate developer for McGrath Associates, Inc. He is a member of the Madison Area Builders Association and the Wisconsin Realtors Association.

Currently serving on: Sustainable Design & Energy Committee

Rationale: Mr. McGrath has the professional experience, along with extensive knowledge of building design, construction and mechanical systems.

Third Alternate:

SCOTT A. VAUGHN, 4722 LaFayette Dr., 53705 (11th A.D.) - Mr. Vaughn is executive director for the Building and Construction Trades Council of South Central Wisconsin. He is founder of the Construction Workforce Diversity Alliance. He is president of the START (Skilled Trades Apprenticeship Readiness Training) Board.

University of Wisconsin Representative (1):

*GARY A. BROWN, 6709 Gaylord Nelson Rd., Middleton 53562 - Mr. Brown is director of Campus Planning for the UW-Madison. He is the major university representative responsible for the campus master plan.

Currently serving on: Regent Street-S. Campus Plan Steering Committee

Rationale: Mr. Brown is familiar with various development/zoning issues in the city of Madison. He has experience in large-scale development projects.

Respectfully submitted,

David J. Cieslewicz Mayor