

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	79808	Version:	1	Name:	10-3-2023 Resident committee appointments	
Туре:	Appointment			Status:	Confirmed	
File created:	9/12/2023			In control:	Mayor's Office	
On agenda:	9/19/2023			Final action:	10/3/2023	
Enactment date:	10/6/2023			Enactment #:		
Title:	Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 9-19-2023; action 10-3-2023).					
Sponsors:						

Indexes:

#### Code sections:

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
10/3/2023	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Confirm	Pass
9/19/2023	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Confirm	Pass
9/12/2023	1	Mayor's Office	Referred for Introduction	

## Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 9-19-2023; action 10-3-2023).

# **Body**

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

## \*2/3 vote required for confirmation of non-city residents.

Pursuant to Sec. 3.30(2) of the Madison General Ordinances, "...provision shall not apply to a member of or candidate for appointment to a City of Madison board, committee or commission where, in the judgement of the mayor and two-thirds (2/3) of the Common Council, the best interests of the city will be served by the appointment of a non-resident member who is particularly well qualified by reasons of education, background, and experience with Madison business concerns or other Madison-based employers and the Mayor specifies fully to the Common Council the reasons why he or she is recommending such appointment."

# **BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS**

MICHELLE R.S. PROBST (17th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a five-year term to the Adult City Resident succeeding Emily Gnam. Michelle Probst is a natural resources educator with the UW-Madison Extension. She works with local governments on natural resource planning. She currently holds the position of secretary for the Wisconsin Extension Environmental & Community Development Association. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2027

# CITY COUNTY HOMELESS ISSUES COMMITTEE

LT. JUSTINE HARRIS - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Madison Police Department Officer.

First appointed 5-4-2022. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2026

# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

MADELINE J. O'CONNOR (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a four-year term to the position of Adult City Resident succeeding Kelda H. Roys. Madeline O'Connor is an attorney with Carlson, Black, O'Callaghan & Battenberg, LLP. Her practice areas include real estate, project development and land use. She has also served as a poll worker. TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2027

# JEFFREY CLAY ERLANGER CIVILITY IN PUBLIC DISCOURSE AWARD

HEATHER R. CROWLEY (12th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Resident Member succeeding Mike Moskoff. Heather Crowley is a social worker supervisor with Dane County Human Services. She is a member of Women in Focus as well as the Advisory Council for the Native American Center for Health Professions. TERM EXPIRES: 10-2-2026

# LANDLORD AND TENANT ISSUES COMMITTEE

\*CHRISBELLY ANTIMO PEREZ, Belleville - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Tenant Organization Representative succeeding Hannah L. Renfro. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2025

Rationale: Chrisbelly Antimo Perez is the housing counseling services program manager for the Tenant Resource Center. She is aware of the community's housing challenges for both tenants and landlords.

TAYLOR A. GILBERTSON (6th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Madison Area University/College Student succeeding Juliana Bennett. Taylor Gilbertson is currently a student at the UW-Madison Law School. Her work with the Eviction Defense Clinic increased her interest in housing and landlord/tenant issues. TERM EXPIRES: 4-30-2026

## SUSTAINABLE MADISON COMMITTEE

HEATHER DRISCOLL (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 2-4-2020.

TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2025

SUSAN B. MILLAR (5th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 2-1-2022. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2025

KAI L. BRITO (6th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Resident Member. First appointed 2-1-2022. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2025

E. CRISTINA CARVAJAL (9th A.D.) - reappoint to a two-year term to the position of Resident Member. First

# File #: 79808, Version: 1

appointed 2-1-2022. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2025

SUJATA GAUTAM (2nd A.D.) - reappoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. First appointed 2-4-2020. TERM EXPIRES: 6-30-2025

Respectfully submitted,

Satya Rhodes-Conway Mayor