

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	54224	Version:	1	Name:	1/22/19 Resident committee appointments	
Туре:	Appointment			Status:	Confirmed	
File created:	12/28/2018			In control:	Mayor's Office	
On agenda:	2/5/2019			Final action:	2/5/2019	
Enactment date:	2/8/2018			Enactment #:		
Title:	Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 1/8/2019; action 1/2/2019).					
Sponsors:	Paul R. Soglin					
Indexes:						

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/5/2019	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Confirm	Pass
1/8/2019	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Refer to a future Meeting to Confirm	Pass
12/28/2018	1	Mayor's Office	Referred for Introduction	

Title

Report of the Mayor submitting resident committee appointments (introduction 1/8/2019; action 1/22/2019).

Body

I hereby submit, for your consideration and approval, the following resident committee appointments.

COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT

SAMANTHA BAILEY (17th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Resident Member. Ms. Bailey is a program & policy analyst with the Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Health, Wisconsin Department of Health Services. She is an active volunteer with Heartland Farm Sanctuary. Ms. Bailey succeeds Timothy D. Baker. TERM EXPIRES: 4-20-2021

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT COMMITTEE

KEETRA S. BURNETTE (20th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Minority Representative. Ms. Burnette currently holds a Resident Member position and has served since 9-15-2015. She succeeds Ricky Hunt. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2020

JENNIFER H. CAMPBELL (11th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a two-year term to the position of Resident Member. Ms. Campbell currently holds the First Alternate position and has served since 5-3-2016. She succeeds Keetra S. Burnette who assumed the Minority Representative position. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019 RACHEL E. SATTLER (10th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a one-year term to the position of First Alternate. Ms. Sattler is a victim rights attorney with Legal Action of Wisconsin. She is also the co-founder and president of Dane County Multi-Agency Center, Inc. Ms. Sattler succeeds Jennifer H. Campbell who assumed a Resident Member position. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019

MADISON FOOD POLICY COUNCIL

MAERAJ H. SHEIKH (18th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Sheikh is the Director of Equity & Community Engagement with Community GroundWorks. She has a background in sustainable agriculture and community & regional planning. Ms. Sheikh succeeds Kyle R. Richmond.

TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2020

BENJAMIN E. RUSH (11th A.D.) - appoint to the remainder of a three-year term to the position of Member. Mr. Rush is a research assistant and Ph.D. student studying Nutritional Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served two years with AmeriCorps, first as a wilderness therapy counselor in AR and secondly, as a nutrition educator and community outreach specialist at the Winnebago County Health Department. Mr. Rush succeeds Erica C. Anderson. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2019

<u>School Superintendent appointment:</u> DUSTIN K. LUNDT (12th A.D.) - appointed to the position of Madison Metropolitan School District Representative. Mr. Lundt is the Food and Nutrition Coordinator. He succeeds Steve Youngbauer. TERM EXPIRES: 10-1-2021

MADISON'S CENTRAL BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT (BID) BOARD

DOUG POLAND (13th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Downtown Madison, Inc. (DMI) Representative. Mr. Poland is an attorney with Rathje Woodward LLC. He will be succeeding Stacy Nemeth as the chair of the DMI Board of Directors in January 2019. TERM EXPIRES: 1-18-2022

PUBLIC MARKET DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

DANIELLE F. FALCONE (4th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Falcone is an outreach specialist with the UW Carbone Cancer Center. She has event planning and fundraising experience, having planned, organized and facilitated community events to raise awareness and funds for cancer research. In addition, she previously served and a sales & special events coordinator for The Edgewater Hotel. Ms. Falcone succeeds Mayra Medrano.

LESLIE PETERSON (12th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Member. Ms. Peterson is a bilingual teacher with the Madison Metropolitan School District. In addition, she has been a small business owner for 30-plus years. She is a founding member of the Wisconsin Citizens Media Cooperative and current volunteer at the Tenant Resource Center. Ms. Peterson succeeds Donale J. Richards.

SISTER CITY COLLABORATION COMMITTEE

RAHEL DESALEGNE (9th A.D.) - appoint to a three-year term to the position of Member. Ms. Desalegne is an

engineer, educator and entrepreneur. She is currently a senior traffic/ITS engineer for TransSmart Technologies, Inc. and an adjunct professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She worked to establish the Madison-Bahir Dar sister city relationship, which was approved by the Common Council on 11/20/2018, and will serve as its representative. TERM EXPIRES: 2-1-2022

TASK FORCE ON STRUCTURE OF CITY GOVERNMENT

ROGER GOODWIN (15th A.D.) - appoint to the position of Mayoral Appointee. Mr. Goodwin spent his entire career in government, including serving on a regional planning commission in Michigan and working for the Wisconsin Legislative Audit Bureau. Mr. Goodwin retired from the City of Madison after 28 years. During that time, he served as an internal auditor & budget analyst for the Finance Department, as the Street Superintendent and as interim Human Resources Director. He succeeds Jerry B. Vang.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul R. Soglin Mayor