

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 33797 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the 2013-2014 Madison Memorial

Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/16/2014 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 4/29/2014 Final action: 4/29/2014

Enactment date: 4/30/2014 Enactment #: RES-14-00277

Title: Congratulating the 2013-2014 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Sponsors: Mark Clear, Paul R. Soglin, Chris Schmidt, Scott J. Resnick, David Ahrens, Shiva Bidar, Maurice S.

Cheeks, Joseph R. Clausius, Lauren Cnare, Denise DeMarb, Steve King, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Marsha A. Rummel, Paul E. Skidmore, John Strasser, Lisa Subeck, Michael E. Verveer, Anita

Weier, Ledell Zellers, Lucas Dailey

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/29/2014	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt Unanimously Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.24, & 2.25	Pass
4/16/2014	1	Council Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC, ITEMS	

Fiscal Note

No appropriation required.

Title

Congratulating the 2013-2014 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Body

WHEREAS, the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming and diving team capped off an undefeated 2013-14 season by capturing the school's fourth straight and 14th overall WIAA Division 1 state title, plus it was the eighth state title in the last decade; and;

WHEREAS, the Spartans won following a commanding performance that earned them first-place honors with 319 points from 13 Spartan swimmers, with all 13 Spartan swimmers contributing points to the team effort by scoring points in their individual event, and;

WHEREAS, the Spartans performances were led by a trio of seniors, Nathan Eckerle, John Hornacek, and Sam Szotkowski. Assisted by superb sophomore performances were turned in by Ben Gebhart, winning the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 50.03, and Justin Temprano, winning the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 51.13, and;

WHEREAS, the Spartans, for a third year in a row, claimed victories in the 200 Yard Medley Relay and the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay, and;

File #: 33797, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the Spartans were ably led to the team championship by Coach Paul Eckerle and his Assistant Coaches, Karl Richters and Michael Drives, all former Spartan state champions in their own right,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council congratulates Coach Paul Eckerle, Coach Karl Richters, Coach Michael Drives, Diving Coach Casey Chamberlain and the entire Spartan boys swimming and diving team on their successful season and Division 1 State Championship, adding another banner to the pool wall; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Mayor and Common Council recognizes the support of the parents, Spartan boys swimming and diving team, student body, and all Spartan fans during the championship season.