

# **City of Madison**

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

# Meeting Minutes - Approved LAKE MONONA WATERFRONT AD HOC COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

6:00 PM

Virtual

## **CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL**

A meeting of the Lake Monona Waterfront Ad Hoc Subcommittee was held virtually at 6:00PM on Wednesday, August 31, 2022. Chair Arntsen called the meeting to order at 6:00PM. A quorum was present and the meeting was properly noticed.

Members Present: Allen Arntsen; Christina Carvajal; Natalie Erdman; Judith Karofsky; Chandra Miller Fienen; Claire Schaefer Oleksiak; Andrew Stevens; and Aaron Williams.

Members Excused: Janice Rice; Rajan Shukla; and Maria Sobrido.

Members Absent: Rahel Desalengne and Zang Vang.

Parks Staff Present: CJ Ryan; Mike Sturm; and Nicole Miller.

City Staff Present: Brian Pittelli, Finance.

73409 Approval of the Minutes of the August 15, 2022 Lake Monona Waterfront Ad

Hoc Committee.

Motion made by Karofsky, seconded by Miller Fienen, to Approve the Minutes of the August 15, 2022 Lake Monona Waterfront Ad Hoc Subcommittee meeting. Motion passed by voice vote/other.

73408 Public Comment

There were no registrants for public comment.

**DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS** 

None.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

## 73410 Staff Update on Design Team Contracts

Maria Sobrido arrived at 6:29PM

Members Present: 9 - Allen Arntsen; Christina Carvajal; Natalie Erdman; Judith Karofsky; Chandra Miller Fienen; Claire Schaefer Oleksiak; Maria Sobrido;

Andrew Stevens; and Aaron Williams.

Members Excused: 2 - Janice Rice and Rajan Shukla.

Members Absent: 2 - Rahel Desalengne and Zang Vang.

Landscape Architect Mike Sturm presented the update. A meeting will be held tomorrow between Sasaki and City Risk Management to see if a commitment can be gotten from them to continue the design challenge. Members will be notified if another Committee meeting will need to be held regarding the outcome.

# 73411 Review Design Challenge Schedule, Potential Venues, and Event Formats

Janice Rice arrived at 6:48PM

Members Present: 10 - Allen Arntsen; Christina Carvajal; Natalie Erdman; Judith Karofsky; Chandra Miller Fienen; Claire Schaefer Oleksiak; Janice Rice;

Maria Sobrido; Andrew Stevens; and Aaron Williams.

Members Excused: 1 - Rajan Shukla.

Members Absent: 2 - Rahel Desalengne and Zang Vang.

Sturm presented the schedule, possible sites, and City Media Team notes.

Motion made by Williams, seconded by Erdman, to Accept the staff meeting schedule. Motion passed by voice vote/other.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion made by Miller Fienen, seconded by Karofsky, to Adjourn at 7:00PM. Motion passed by voice vote/other.