

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Meeting Minutes - Approved TRANSPORTATION POLICY AND PLANNING BOARD

Consider: Who benefits? Who is burdened?
Who does not have a voice at the table?
How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?

Monday, June 6, 2022 5:00 PM Virtual Meeting

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Vice Chair called the meeting to order at 5:03PM

Present: 9 - Grant Foster; Keith Furman; Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Randy Udell;

Christopher T. McCahill; Carolyn A. McAndrews; Baltazar De Anda

Santana; Margaret Bergamini and Badrinath Lankella

Absent: 1 - Thomas L. Wilson

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Furman moved to approve minutes. Lankella seconded. Bergamini spoke to the May 31st Public Hearing minutes Motion passed by voice vote/other

3. 71880 Public Comment for items not on the agenda for TPPB June 6, 2022

Item# 71227 Metro Transit Network Redesign - Board deliberation and action only- No public comment. Item was adjourned after the May 31, 2022 Public Hearing

4. DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

None

5. <u>71227</u> Adopting the Metro Network Redesign Plan

Presentation by Mike Cechvala, Justin Stuehrenberg, Tom Lynch Vice Chair Foster turned over duties to Chair Wilson at 5:48PM

Present 10 - Grant Foster, Keith Furman, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Randy Udell, Christopher Mc Cahill, Carolyn McAndrews, Baltazar De Anda Santana, Margaret Bergamini, Badrinath Lankella, and Tom Wilson

Bergamini moved to defer voting on the Metro Transit Network Redesign to the next TPPB Meeting. Harrington McKinney seconded.

Harrington-Mckinney called for the question. No objections. Vote passed by voice vote/other.

Bergamini motion to defer voting until next TPPB meeting. Motion failed by roll call vote.

4 No - Mcandrews, Mccahill, Foster, Furman,

4 Aye - De Anda Santana, Harrington- Mckinney, Udell, Bergamini

Due to tie vote, Chair Wilson voted No

Final vote

5 No

4 Aye

Furman moved to adopt amendments 1,3C,7,8,10,11A,12. Foster seconded. Vote passed by voice vote/other.

7 Aye - De Anda Santana, McAndrews, McCahill, Foster, Furman, Bergamini, Udell

1 Abstain - Harrington-McKinney

Furman moved to adopt amendments 13,16,16C,17A. Udell seconded. Vote passed by voice vote/other.

Furman moved to adopt amendment 5. Foster seconded. Vote passed by voice/other.

Furman moved to adopt amendment 6A with the Middleton portion conditionally approved, upon the approval of the Middleton council. Foster seconded. Vote passed by voice vote/other

Furman moved to adopt amendment 9. Bergamini seconded. Motion passed by roll call vote.

- 6 Aye- McAndrews, McCahill, Foster, Furman, Bergamini, Udell
- 1 No- Harrington McKinney
- 1 Abstain- De Anda Santana

Furman moved to adopt amendment 4D. Foster seconded. Motion failed by roll call vote.

- 3 Aye-McCahill, Foster, Furman
- 4 No- De Anda Santana, Harrington-McKinney, Bergamini, Udell
- 1 Abstain- McAndrews

Bergamini moved to adopt amendment 4E. Udell seconded. Motion passed by roll call vote.

- 6 Aye- De Anda Santana, Harrington-McKinney, McCahill, Furman, Bergamini, Udell
- 1 No- Foster
- 1 Abstain- McAndrews

Furman moved to adopt amendment 30A. McCahill seconded. Vote passed by voice vote/other.

Furman moved to adopt amendment 31. Udell seconded. Vote passed by voice vote/other.

Furman moved to Recommend to Council to adopt with the following recommendations:

Draft Transit Redesign including amendments 1, 3C, 7, 8,10, 11A,12,13,15,16C,17A, 5, 6A, 9, 4E, 30A, and 31.

Amendments not recommended are 4D and 30B. Foster seconded

Motion passed by roll call vote:

Ayes: 7 - Grant Foster; Keith Furman; Randy Udell; Christopher T. McCahill; Carolyn A. McAndrews; Baltazar De Anda Santana and Margaret Bergamini

Noes: 1 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney

Non Voting: 2 - Thomas L. Wilson and Badrinath Lankella

6. <u>69519</u>

SUBSTITUTE - Amending the City of Madison Official Map to establish mapped reservations for future Streets and Highways in the City of Madison consistent with recommendations in the adopted *Oscar Mayer Special Area Plan*.

Heather Stouder presented.

The following people spoke in support:
Paul Noedler- 136 Kensington, Maple Bluff
Barbara Noedler- 136 Kensington, Maple Bluff
Kevin McDonell- representing Lincoln Ave Capital
Jamie Cali- representing JLA Architects

A number of people were registered but did not want to speak. Please see full registration list attached to this item on the agenda.

Present 10 - Grant Foster, Keith Furman, Randy Udell, Christopher Mc Cahill, Carolyn McAndrews, Baltazar De Anda Santana, Margaret Bergamini, and Tom Wilson

Excused- Harrington-Mckinney, Badrinath Lankella

Furman moved to recommend Version1 (Staff Version).Foster seconded. Motion passed by roll call vote.

Ayes: 5 - Keith Furman; Randy Udell; Christopher T. McCahill; Carolyn A. McAndrews and Grant Foster

Noes: 2 - Baltazar De Anda Santana and Margaret Bergamini

Excused: 1 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney

Non Voting: 2 - Thomas L. Wilson and Badrinath Lankella

7. <u>71878</u> Election of Officers

Furman nominated Thomas Wilson for Chair. Udell seconded. Nomination approved by acclamation.

Furman nominated Grant Foster for Vice Chair. Udell seconded. Nomination approved by acclamation.

8. 71879 Appointmen

Appointment of Representative for the Joint Campus Area Committee

Foster moved to defer to next TPPB meeting. Udell seconded. Vote passed by voice/other.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 10:55PM

City of Madison Page 4