

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Meeting Minutes - Approved MADISON POLICE DEPARTMENT POLICY & PROCEDURE REVIEW AD HOC COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 11, 2018

6:00 PM

210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Room 201 (City-County Building)

JOINT DISCUSSION OF COMMON COUNCIL & THE MPD POLICY & PROCEDURE AD HOC REVIEW COMMITTEE ON OIR REPORT & RECOMMENDATIONS

Possible quorum of the Public Safety Review Committee may be in attendance

CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

at 6:03 pm. Misters Albouras and Yudice in the chair. Figueroa arrived at 6:09 pm.

Present: 13 - Jacquelyn Hunt; Jerry B. Vang; Mario Garcia Sierra; Christian A. Albouras;

Sean A. Saiz; Sue K. Petkovsek; Luis R. Yudice; Matthew W. Braunginn; Kim M. Jorgensen; Linda J. Ketcham; Veronica Figueroa; Tom Brown and

Keith A. Findley

Absent: 1 - Anthony B. Cooper, Sr.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes were approved by common consensus.

PUBLIC COMMENT

DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

DISCUSSION ITEMS

1.	Introduction and Brief Background - Council President Marsha Rummel and
	Co-Chairs Christian Albouras and Luis Yudice

- 2. PowerPoint Presentation by Michael Gennaco, OIR Group
- Questions and Answers With Members of the Common Council and MPD
 Policy and Procedure Review Ad Hoc Committee
- 4. Next Steps

5. Schedule and Plan Future Meeting Dates

A motion was made by Jorgensen, seconded by Hunt, to schedule the next meeting for February 15, 2018 at 5 pm. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

6. Nomination and Election of Co-Chairs

A motion was made by Vang to nominate Tom Brown as a co-chair and a motion was made by Yudice to nominate Keith Findlay as a co-chair.

The vote was as follows:

Brown: Albouras, Braunginn, Findley, Garcia Sierra, Hunt, Jorgensen, Ketchum, Figueroa, Petkovsek, Vang, and Yudice

Findley: Brown

Brown is elected as a co-chair.

A motion was made by Yudice to nominate Keith Findley as a co-chair and a motion was made by Hunt to nominate Matthew Braunginn as a co-chair.

The vote was as follows:

Findley: Albouras, Braunginn, Brown, Garcia Sierra, Jorgensen, Figueroa, Petkovsek, and Yudice

Braunginn: Hunt and Vang

Findley abstained.

Findley is elected as a co-chair.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Findley, seconded by Hunt, to Adjourn at 9:57 pm. The motion passed by voice vote/other.