

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Meeting Minutes - Approved COMMON COUNCIL

This meeting may be viewed LIVE on Charter Spectrum Channel 994, AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 or at www.madisoncitychannel.tv.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

4:20 PM

210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Room 354 (City-County Building)

SPECIAL MEETING

ROLL CALL

Present: 17 - Paul R. Soglin; Ledell Zellers; Amanda Hall; Michael E. Verveer; Shiva

Bidar-Sielaff; Marsha A. Rummel; Steve King; Zach Wood; Paul E. Skidmore; Maurice S. Cheeks; Arvina Martin; Larry Palm; David Ahrens; Denise DeMarb; Samba Baldeh; Rebecca Kemble and Mark Clear

Excused: 4 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Sara Eskrich; Sheri Carter and Matthew J.

Phair

This is a special meeting of the Common Council just before the meeting of the Finance Committee. The following Alders will be participating by phone: Ahrens, Baldeh, Bidar-Sielaff, Cheeks, Kemble, King, Martin, Zellers

SPEAKING GUIDELINES

Speaking Limits:

Public Hearing - 5 Minutes, Information Hearing - 5 Minutes, Other Items - 3 minutes.

You must register before your item is considered by the Council.

The use of audible cell phone ringers and active use and response to cellular phone technology by the governing body, staff and members of the public is discouraged in the Council Chambers while the Council is in session.

NOTIFIED ABSENCES: Harrington-Mckinney, Skidmore, Eskrich

OPENING REMARKS

SUSPENSION OF RULES

A motion was made by Rummel, seconded by Verveer, to Suspend the Rules. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

Suspend Rules 2.04 (order of business), 2.05 (introduction of business), 2.24 (ordinances), and 2.25 (resolutions) for items so designated on the agenda.

REPORT OF ALCOHOL LICENSE REVIEW COMMITTEE

1. 46907 Temporary Class B Retailer License

Concurrent with Street Use Permit

Madison Festivals. Inc

Event Location: 2 E Main St, Capitol Square

Event Date: 05/27/2017, 05/28/2017 Aldermanic District 4 (Ald. Verveer)

Police District: 406
Event: Run Madtown

A motion was made by Rummel, seconded by Verveer, to Grant. The motion passed by the following vote:

Ayes: 16 - Ledell Zellers; Amanda Hall; Michael E. Verveer; Shiva Bidar-Sielaff;

Marsha A. Rummel; Steve King; Zach Wood; Paul E. Skidmore; Maurice S. Cheeks; Arvina Martin; Larry Palm; David Ahrens; Denise DeMarb; Samba

Baldeh; Rebecca Kemble and Mark Clear

Excused: 4 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Sara Eskrich; Sheri Carter and Matthew J.

Phair

Non Voting: 1 - Paul R. Soglin

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by DeMarb, seconded by Rummel, to Adjourn at 4:29pm. The motion passed by voice vote/other.