

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Meeting Minutes - Approved GOLF SUBCOMMITTEE

Tuesday, August 8, 2017 6:00 PM Olbrich Gardens
3300 Atwood Ave, Atrium Room

1 CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

A meeting of the Golf Subcommittee was held at 6:00pm on Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at the Olbrich Botanical Gardens' Atrium Room. The meeting was called to order at 6:04PM. A quorum was present and the meeting was properly

Members Present: Robert Dye; Joanne Dye; Warren Onken; Dan Smith; Claudia

Standorf; and David Wallner. Members Absent: James Kopp.

Parks Staff Present: Eric Knepp; Ryan Brinza; and Theran Steindl.

2 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion made by J. Dye, seconded by Standorf, to Approve the Minutes of the July 18, 2017 Golf Subcommittee. Motion passed by voice vote/other.

3 PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no registrants for Public Comment.

4 DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

Dan Smith and Joanne Dye recused themselves from any commentary involving The First Tee.

NEW BUSINESS

5 48254 2016 Annual Report and Discussion on Future Planning

Parks Superintendent Eric Knepp addressed the audience regarding the 2016 Golf Annual Report.

The following Registered Speakers spoke in opposition of the sale of the Monona Golf Course:

Thomas Stoebig; Mary Boyd; Chris Lynch; AJ Kriha of The First Tee of SC WI; Mark Buffat; Mike Sloan; Suzanne Harp; Beth Zeier; Kate Nolan; Darlene White; Carla Draper; Bert Slindhe; Amy Scarr; Ann Waidelich; Karen Matteoni; Beth Godfrey; Scott Kerr; Dave Chamberlain; Ken Russell; and Berry Kerr.

The following Registrants are in opposition of the sale of the Monona Golf Course:

Arlene Gorski; Dennis Hartman; Gail Steingraber; Sharon Raimondo; Ken Foster; John Baker; Jim Noel; Arlene Jaster; Louise Fosdick; Ray Shane;

Martha Coughlin; Jerry Hermanson; Richard McCann; Dan Dettmann; Mary Lynn Kretchmar; Mary Braskamp of the Tuesday Kraft/Oscar Mayer Golf League; Jose Lopez; David Chamberlain; Ella Mulcahy-Akins; Glen Schubert; Brent Nicastro; Kristine Gay; Tim Casper of Monona East Side Business Alliance; Terry Pankow; Otto Krueger; David Gorski, Sr.; James A. Craig; Judith Louer; Rick Reddell; Bill Neilzel; Patrick Soukup; Jim Cerro; Nancy Prusaitis; Paul Matteoni; Peg Carlson; Deborah Tinker; Steve Tinker; William Doll; Kathryn Trudell; Lorne Hillier; Dan Minor; Barb Minor; Richard Yttri; Derrell Struck; Diane MacDonald; Nancy Voss; Pam DeVore; Leslie Griffith; John Griffith; Deborah Walker; Susan Fox; and Ron Rogers.

Registrant Robert A. Bean registered in support of providing extra funds to the Yahara Hills Golf Course.

Parks Superintendent Eric Knepp presented financial information broken down by expense. Knepp also presented the available cash report.

The Subcommittee will formulate thoughts and send through Head Golf Professional Ryan Brinza and Golf Operations Supervisor Theran Steindl to funnel to Dan Smith for formulation of a proposal to send to the Board of Park Commissioners.

6 ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Standorf, seconded by J. Dye, to Adjourn at 8:14 PM. Motion passed by voice vote/other.