

City of Madison

Meeting Minutes - Approved MADISON ARTS COMMISSION

Tuesday, March 12, 2013	5:15 PM	215 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
		Room LL-110 (Madison Municipal Building)

CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Present: 8 -

Briony Jean Foy; Kia M. Karlen; Christopher A. Taylor; Anthony L. Brown II; Patricia Elson; Leslee J. Nelson; José J. Madera and John Nicholas Schweitzer

Excused: 3 -

Satya V. Rhodes-Conway; Danez J. Smith and Barbara M. Schrank

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of minutes were referred to a future meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

None

1.	<u>16466</u>	Introduce New Madison Arts Commission Member
		Kia Karlen introduced herself, she is the Director of Education at the Madison Children's Museum. She is also a french horn and accordion player. Chris Taylor is an Associate Dean at Madison Media Institute. All commissioners welcomed them and introduced themselves.
2.	<u>16058</u>	Select MAC Representative to Recommend for State Street Oversight Committee
		A motion was made by Schweitzer, seconded by Nelson, to Appoint Patty Elson to the State Street Oversight Committee. Patty accepted the nomination. The motion passed by voice vote/other.
3.	<u>18179</u>	Review of the Grant Review Process

April 4, 8, and 9 will be the grant review nights, with the regular MAC meeting to approve the grant recommendations moved to April 10.

4. <u>29413</u> Hip Hop

Brown presented a proposal to create an ad hoc committee based on a belief that MAC could do more present Hip Hop in a positive light. Foy thought Brown should ask the Mayor for a separate committee to study the issue. Other Commission members supported the idea of an ad hoc committee (with an end date) to look at best practices that may recommend further action to the Mayor and Common Council.

A motion was made by Brown II, seconded by Schweitzer, to Create an Ad Hoc Committee that will support and encourage Hip Hop Art in Madison. The motion passed by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 -

Kia M. Karlen; Christopher A. Taylor; Anthony L. Brown II; Patricia Elson; Leslee J. Nelson; José J. Madera and John Nicholas Schweitzer

Noes: 1 -

Briony Jean Foy

Excused: 3 -

Satya V. Rhodes-Conway; Danez J. Smith and Barbara M. Schrank

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Elson, seconded by Nelson, to Adjourn at 6:20 p.m.. The motion passed by voice vote/other.