TO: Personnel Board

FROM: Victoria Larson, Human Resources

DATE: February 27, 2020

SUBJECT: EO Investigator/Conciliator 1 – 3

Director of Civil Rights Norman Davis and Equal Opportunities Division Manager Byron Bishop is requesting a name change to the EO Investigator /Conciliator 1 through 3 series. In 2018, the Paralegal Mediator Series was formed, in part, to take over mediation responsibilities that had been performed by the investigators. This was done to eliminate potential conflicts of interest in having the people who investigate cases also conduct mediation/conciliation services to try and resolve the case. Because the Paralegal Mediator is now performing all the mediation/conciliation services, the current EO Investigator/Conciliator title is out dated. I have determined that while the duties of this classification has changed slightly (additional outreach work is being performed as a result of not performing the mediations), the change is not significant enough to warrant a change in compensation level. Based on this information I would recommend the following:

- Delete the existing EO Investigator/Conciliator 1-3 classifications in CG18, R4, 6, and 8, respectively.
- Create the new classification series of EO Investigator 1-3 in CG18, R4, 6, and 8, respectively.
- Recreate position #0892 of EO Investigator/Conciliator 3 (CG 18, Range 8), #0884 EO Investigator/Conciliator 1 (CG 18, Range 4), and #0893 Investigator/Conciliator 1 to the EO Investigator Classification Series in the same compensation groups and ranges within in the Department of Civil Rights budget and reallocate incumbent Alyssa Riphon, Carla Garces, and Kymtana Woodly to the new positions.

Editor's Note:

Compensation	2020 Annual Minimum	2020 Annual Maximum	2020 Annual Maximum
Group/Range	(Step 1)	(Step 5)	(+12% Longevity)
18/4	\$57,223.14	\$65,988.26	\$73,906.85
18/8	\$65,988.26	\$78,305.76	\$87,702.45

Cc: Norman Davis, Department of Civil Rights Director
Byron Bishop, Equal Opportunities Division Manager
Alyssa Riphon, Incumbent
Carla Garces, Incumbent
Kymtana Woodly, Incumbent