RESOLUTION NO. TC 19-50 OF THE CITY OF MADISON, WISCONSIN TRANSIT AND PARKING COMMISSION

Congratulating and Thanking Chuck Kamp on the Occasion of His Retirement

Date Presented: 10/30/19 Date Adopted: 10/30/19

WHEREAS, Chuck Kamp has worked in public transportation for 38 years, the last 13 at Metro Transit as General Manager: and

WHEREAS, he has accomplished many things during his tenure with Metro, focusing on making customers' daily rides a more positive experience by implementing things like trash cans on buses, adding bus cleaner positions, changing seating to provide more standee room, changing routes to create better schedules, and particularly pursuing safety initiatives including reducing electronic distractions, using cameras for safety and implementing medical exams for safety sensitive staff; and

WHEREAS, he has strived to create a more regional transit system, most recently expanding service to Sun Prairie in August 2019; and

WHEREAS, under his leadership, Metro Transit sponsored a Bus Rapid Transit seminar in 2009, and as he retires, he can see that seed grow;

WHEREAS, he is not only knowledgeable and experienced, he has been dedicated to moving transit forward with the following appropriately balanced considerations always in mind: innovation, community, safety, performance, financial concerns, the environment and expanding transit's reach;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Transportation Commission congratulates Chuck Kamp on his retirement and thanks him for over 13 years of excellent service and leadership, making the City of Madison's public transit system one of the best systems of its size in the nation.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that though Metro Transit and the Transportation Commission will miss his guidance and leadership, we wish him well in the next leg of his journey and look forward to seeing him on the bus while he shepherds in the next generation of "transit geeks."

Approved this 30th day of October, 2019, by the City of Madison Transportation Commission.

Ann E. Kovich, Chair Transportation Commission