MEG/WATER GOVERNANCE SURVEY April 9, 2015

Municipality	Water utility <u>commission</u> under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805	Water utility board under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805(6) that is not a commission	Board of public works	City Council/ Village Board	Other	Comments
Appleton					X	Utilities Committee has jurisdiction over Appleton Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater Utilities. Utilities Committee actions are confirmed by Common Council. Finance Committee approves construction projects but these actions like those from Utilities Committee are confirmed by Common Council.
Arcadia	X					Appointed Utility Commission consisting of 3 to 5 members appointed by City Common Council. Currently there are four members with a City Council member attending. Terms for utility commission are a rotating five years with various start dates.
Ashland				X		
Bonduel			X			
Brookfield		X				
Cudahy	X					
Eagle River	X					
Fort Atkinson				X		
Fredonia					X	Utility committee that makes recommendations to the village board.
Green Bay	X					
Green Lake					X	Committee of the Whole who recommends to City Council
Jackson			X			Board of public works then approved by the full village board.
Janesville				X		
Kenosha	X					Commission made up of six (of 17) alderpersons that are appointed by the mayor and confirmed by City Council. Bond sales and tax roll go to City Council.
La Crosse			X			Board of Public Works directly oversees the Water Utility; Common Council has ultimate authority over

Municipality	Water utility commission under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805	Water utility board under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805(6) that is not a commission	Board of public works	City Council/ Village Board	Other	Comments
						the Utility.
Lake Geneva	X					
Madison		X				
Manitowoc	X					
Marshfield	X					Utility Commission meeting minutes are passed to the Common Council for their approval.
Oak Creek	X					
Orfordville			X			
Oshkosh				X		Report to the Public Works Director and work together to bring utility related issues forward to the City Manager for discussion and approval to be put on the Council agenda for final approval.
Pleasant Prairie				X		
Plover		X				
Plymouth				X		
Racine	X					Commission reports to the Racine Common Council. Commission is comprised of 7 members appointed by the mayor. members include: the Mayor, Two alderman (normally one sits in the City Finance committee) and 4 citizen members that are Citizens of the City of Racine.
Reedsburg	X					5 person Utility Commission (3-from City Council and 2-from general public).
River Falls		X				Utility is under the direction of a Utility Advisory Board and our City Council is ultimately who we answer to.
Shawano			X			
Stevens Point	X					
Sun Prairie	X					
Watertown			X			
Waukesha	X					
Wausau	X					Changes to ordinances, such as sewer rate changes, are approved by the Commission then forwarded to

Municipality	Water utility commission under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805	Water utility board under Wis. Stat. sec. 66.0805(6) that is not a commission	Board of public works	City Council/ Village Board	Other	Comments
						the Common Council for ratification. There has been discussion about eliminating the utility commission and running everything through the Board of Public Works.
Wauwatosa				X		Common Council has the full authority over operations. Items first go to our Finance Committee for approval before they get to the full Council.
Weston				X		Weston's Property and Infrastructure Committee has advisory authority with the utility operation. All decisions are subject to actions/approvals of the Village Board of Trustees.
Winneconne			X			77.111
Wrightstown				X		Utility staff recommends and advises on all operational changes and projects, with all capital and budget requests being approved directly by the Village Board.
TOTALS	15	4	7	9	3	