DRAFT 17 July 2014

By ORDER of the President of the Common Council, Alder Chris Schmidt, and pursuant to those powers vested in this position under Section 33.01(4)(a) of the Madison General Ordinances, there is hereby created an ad hoc committee of the City of Madison entitled the Benchmarking Collaboration Ad Hoc Committee ("the Committee").

The purpose of the Committee is as follows: to bring together stakeholders concerned about energy conservation in the buildings within Madison; develop and implement an educational and outreach program on energy benchmarking; develop an energy benchmarking ordinance ("the Ordinance"); and, in conjunction with other public and private conservation organizations, structure a technical assistance program through the Facilities & Sustainability section of the Engineering Division to aid in the Ordinance's implementation. The Ordinance may follow a voluntary or mandatory compliance model, to be determined by the Committee.

The Committee shall meet for up to one year following the issuance of this order, and upon completion of its work it shall report back to the Common Council. If additional time is needed to meet its goals, an extension of this order by the Council President may be sought by the Committee.

The Committee shall consist of the following ten members, appointed by the Council President:

- 2 Alders: Alder David Ahrens, District 15, and Alder Matt Phair, District 20;
- John Sumi as the designee from a local utility (Madison Gas & Electric or Alliant Energy);
- Zach Brandon as the designee from the Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce;
- Chad Faber as the designee from Smart Growth Madison;
- Susan Schmitz as the Director of DMI;
- Willa Schlecht as the designee from Sustain Dane (and is a former MPower user)
- Raj Shukla as a current or former member of the Sustainable Madison Committee
- Jeanette LeZak as a representative from the Energy Center of Wisconsin where she is a research analyst; and
- Manus McDevitt as a licensed/certified energy conservation consultant

The Committee shall be staffed by Facilities & Sustainability staff.