CITY OF MADISON, WISCONSIN

AN ORDINANCE

PRESENTED

July 7, 2009 EOC

Amending Section 39.06 of the Madison General Ordinances to add Dane County representatives to the Commission that determines the recipient of the Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award; and to specify the number of members within the commission and their roles.

Drafted by: Michael P. May

Date: June 25, 2009

SPONSOR: Mayor Cieslewicz

DRAFTER'S ANALYSIS: This ordinance states that the County Executive shall appoint four voting members to the Commission determining the recipient of the Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award. It also specifies the number of members and their role as voting or nonvoting members of the Commission. In addition, the ordinance changes the date the Mayor convenes the Commission from August 15 to March 15 of each year.

The Common Council of the City of Madison do hereby ordain as follows:

1. Section 39.06 entitled "Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award" of the Madison General Ordinances is amended to read as follows:

"39.06 REVEREND DOCTOR MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. HUMANITARIAN AWARD.

- (1) There is created the Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award or Awards to be presented annually to the person or persons who have made outstanding and significant contributions in the spirit of sisterhood, brotherhood, and harmony toward making our CityMadison and Dane County an ideal place in which to live. The award or awards shall be presented at the annual celebration of the birth of Dr. King.
- (2) The Mayor and the county Executive shall appoint a Commission, consisting of nine (9) voting members and three (3) nonvoting members. The Mayor shall appoint the City's members, which shall consist of the Mayor or her/his designee as an ex officio nonvoting member; the City's Affirmative Action Division Head as an ex officio nonvoting member; the Equal Opportunities Division Head as an ex officio nonvoting member; and one delegate from each of the following commissions/ committees as voting members: the Madison Equal Opportunities Commission, the Affirmative Action Commission, the Community Block Grant Development Committee, the Community Services Committee and the Committee on People with Disabilities. The County Executive shall appoint four (4) voting members to represent Dane County. This Commission shall annually seek candidates and select the recipient or recipients of this award.
- (3) The Mayor shall convene the Commission on or before <u>AugustMarch</u> 15 of each year. The Commission shall select a chairperson and may establish rules and procedures."

Approved as to form: