

City of Madison

Meeting Minutes - Approved TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

	Consider: Who benefits? Who is burdened? Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?	
Wednesday, June 11, 2025	5:00 PM	Virtual

CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m.

- Present: 9 Will Ochowicz; Sean O'Brien; Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Ann E. Kovich; Robbie Webber; Denise N. Jess; William F. Bremer; Harald Kliems and Cailey A. Jamison
- Excused: 4 Dina Nina Martinez-Rutherford; Jose Miguel (Pepe) Barros Hoffens; Christopher T. McCahill and Lynn A. Olson

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Bremer moved to approve the minutes of the May 14 meeting, seconded by Kliems. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

PUBLIC COMMENT

1. <u>88694</u> Public Comment for Items not on the Agenda for the June 11, 2025 Meeting

None

DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

None

CONSENT AGENDA

Bremer moved to approve ITEMS 2 and 3, seconded by Webber. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

ITEMS TO BE CONSIDERED

2.* 88329 Vacating and discontinuing a small surplus portion public street right-of-way of Schewe Road dedicated by Certified Survey Map No. 9672 to allow for the redivision of Lot 1 of the Certified Survey Map and Outlot 1 of Eagle Trace. Located in the Northeast 1/4 of the Northeast 1/4 of Section 20, Township 7 North, Range 8 East, City of Madison, Dane County, Wisconsin. (District 9)

Bremer moved to Return to Lead with the Recommendation for Common Council to Adopt, seconded by Webber. The motion passed by voice vote/other. 3.* 88477 Vacating and discontinuing a portion of public street right-of-way of University Bay Drive; realigning and accepting a Permanent Limited Easement for public street purposes; and amending the City of Madison Official Map, all to allow for the future relocation of University Bay Drive and construction of the Lakeshore Nature Preserve Frautschi Center. Located in part of the Southeast 1/4 of the Northeast 1/4 and part of the Southwest 1/4 of the Northeast 1/4 of Section 16, Township 7 North, Range 9 East, City of Madison, Dane County, Wisconsin. (District 5)

> Bremer moved to Return to Lead with the Recommendation for Common Council to Adopt, seconded by Webber. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

4. <u>88695</u> Metro Transit Route 75 stop and trip updates and additional bus stop changes

Chief Development Officer Mick Rusch, Planning Manager Sean Hedgpeth and Capital Projects Manager Mike Cechvala with Metro provided verbal reports and were available for questions.

Registrants as follows: Oppose, wish to speak; Graeme Mason, Fitchrona Rd; Heidi Wenner, Fitchrona Rd; Dave Martin, Fitchrona Rd; Raksha Vijendra, Fitchrona Rd; Iris Hidding, Andes Dr; Jason Slaybaugh, Fitchrona Rd

Kliems moved to approve all of the proposed changes, including the Fitchrona changes, seconded by Ochowicz.

Webber moved to amend the motion, separating approval of the Fitchrona changes into a second motion, seconded by Harrington-McKinney. This was accepted as a friendly amendment by Kliems and Ochowicz.

Kliems moved to approve all the proposed changes, excluding the Fitchrona changes, seconded by Ochowicz. The motion passed by the following roll call vote:

Ayes: 8 - William Ochowicz; Sean O'Brien; Barabara Harrington-McKinney; Robbie Webber; Denise Jess; Bill Bremer; Harald Kliems; Cailey Jamison

Excused: 4 - Dina Nina Martinez-Rutherford; Pepe Barros; Chris McCachill; Lynn Olson

Non-Voting: 1 - Ann Kovich

Kliems moved to approve the Fitchrona changes as proposed, seconded by Ochowicz. The motion passed by the following roll call vote:

- Ayes: 5 Will Ochowicz; Sean O'Brien; Ann E. Kovich; Harald Kliems and Cailey A. Jamison
- **Noes:** 4 Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Robbie Webber; Denise N. Jess and William F. Bremer
- Excused: 4 Dina Nina Martinez-Rutherford; Jose Miguel (Pepe) Barros Hoffens; Christopher T. McCahill and Lynn A. Olson
- 5. <u>88696</u>

Review and Approve the TC Annual Work Plan

Chair Kovich provided verbal reports and was available for questions.

Bremer moved to approve the updated TC annual work plan, seconded by Jess. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

6. <u>88697</u> Public Works Transportation Projects Review and Feedback -Davidson/Park/Maher/Gary

Engineer Jose Navarro with Transportation provided verbal reports and, along with Engineer Aaron Canton with Engineering, Ped/Bike Administrator Kevin Luecke with Traffic Engineering, and Deputy City Engineer Chris Petykowski, was available for questions.

Registrants as follows: Oppose, wish to speak; Curt Riedl, Maher Ave; Ken Morrow, Gary St; James Curley, Davidson St Neither support nor oppose; wish to speak; Katharine Marshall, Gary St Support, wish to speak; Kris Marchioni, Elinor St Oppose, does not wish to speak; Kasey Beduhn, Gary St; Jeanne Welch, Gary St

Bremer moved to approve the proposed design with the sidewalks on one side, seconded by Ochowicz. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

After this item, the meeting proceeded to ITEM 10.

7.52830Members of the Transportation Commission who are also members of other
transportation-related Boards, Committees or Commissions provide relevant
updates from those Boards, Committees or Commissions.

None

8. <u>60440</u> General announcements by the Chair (for information only; not for discussion)

Kovich provided a verbal update that Christof Spieler was selected as Madison's next Director of Transportation and will be starting on July 21.

9. <u>60439</u> Commission member suggestions for items on future agenda (for information only; not for discussion)

Kovich provided verbal updates on some of the upcoming items. Please see the attachment in Legistar for other upcoming future agenda items.

LATE ITEM TO BE CONSIDERED

10.88716TAP (Transportation Alternatives Program) Grant Applications: Informational
Presentation and Feedback

Kevin Luecke provided verbal reports and, along with Chris Petykowski and Director of Traffic Engineering Yang Tao, was available for questions.

After this item, the meeting went to ITEM 7.

ADJOURNMENT

Kliems moved to adjourn, seconded by Ochowicz. The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.