

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 39753 Version: 1 Name: Presentation of the 2015 Rev. James C. Wright

Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities

Division to Anthony Timmons.

Type: Presentation Status: Accepted

File created: 8/17/2015 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 9/1/2015 **Final action:** 9/1/2015

Enactment date: Enactment #:

Title: Presentation of the 2015 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal

Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Anthony Timmons.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/1/2015	1	COMMON COUNCIL	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO GRANT UNDER SUSPENSION OF MGO 2.055 - REPORT OF OFFICER	Pass
8/17/2015	1	Mayor's Office	Refer	

Title

Presentation of the 2015 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission and Equal Opportunities Division to Anthony Timmons.

Body

Mr. Timmons holds a BBA in Accounting and MBA in Finance and is employed with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. Mr. Timmons generously volunteers his time and experience to ensure fiscal discipline for the betterment of organizations dedicated to children, youth and adults who are most in need in society. Mr. Timmons has served as the Treasurer of the Madison Branch of the NAACP, Treasurer of the Wisconsin Association of Black State Employees, founding Treasurer of the Charles Hamilton Houston Institute, Inc., and Treasurer of the Capital City Lodge #2 of the Prince Hall Freemasonry. Mr. Timmons cares about poverty alleviation, civil rights, social action, economic empowerment, human rights, social service and political involvement. Mr. Timmons uses his expertise as a trusted strategist and collaborator to assist organization with advancing their visions, missions and goals to assist the Madison community with actualizing its commitment to justice, equity and inclusion.

Mr. Timmons' nominator made this statement: "I believe that more attention should paid to the quiet civil rights warriors who work without drawing attention to themselves, and Anthony Timmons is such a warrior."

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013 and Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014.