

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 38228 Version: 1 Name: Salute to the Wisconsin Badgers Basketball Team

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/29/2015 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 5/5/2015 **Final action:** 5/5/2015

Enactment date: 5/7/2015 Enactment #: RES-15-00395

Title: Salute to the Wisconsin Badgers Basketball Team

Sponsors: Paul R. Soglin, David Ahrens, Samba Baldeh, Shiva Bidar, Sheri Carter, Maurice S. Cheeks, Mark

Clear, Denise DeMarb, Sara Eskrich, Rebecca Kemble, Steve King, Barbara Harrington-McKinney, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Marsha A. Rummel, Chris Schmidt, Paul E. Skidmore, Michael E.

Verveer, Zach Wood, Ledell Zellers

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/5/2015	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt	Pass
4/29/2015	1	Mayor's Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC, ITEMS	

Fiscal Note

No expenditure is required.

Title

Salute to the Wisconsin Badgers Basketball Team

Body

WHEREAS, the Wisconsin Badgers recently completed their second consecutive trip to the NCAA Final Four; and

WHEREAS, en route to the Final Four, the Badgers set a school record with 36 wins, won the outright Big Ten regular season title and won the Big Ten Conference championship by defeating Michigan State in overtime; and

WHEREAS, the Badgers received a number 1 seed in the NCAA tournament for the first time in program history; and

WHEREAS, the Badgers triumphed through the NCAA tournament with victories over Coastal Carolina, Oregon, North Carolina, and Arizona on their way to another Final Four appearance; and

WHEREAS, the Badgers defeated the previously undefeated Kentucky Wildcats by a score of 71-64 to the delight of the nation, except for residents of Minnesota and Kentucky, and Ashley Judd; and

WHEREAS, the Badgers appeared in the NCAA National Championship game for the first time in 74 years; and

WHEREAS, along the way the student athletes, groomed by Coach Bo Ryan, captured the hearts of fans around the world and "Made 'Em Believe"; and

File #: 38228, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the team shared their camaraderie without logorrhea or prevarication, while educating the nation on their FIFA Soccer prowess; and

WHEREAS, forward Frank Kaminsky was honored with numerous awards, including the Naismith Trophy, the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year award, and the John R. Wooden Award for College Basketball's Most Outstanding Player; and

WHEREAS, Kaminsky and his fellow senior classmates Josh Gasser, Traevon Jackson, and Duje Dukan will be joined by Junior forward Sam Dekker in pursuing new life and basketball opportunities; and

WHEREAS, Coach Bo Ryan and his staff will not be in a quandary as the team moves on to another great season with succedaneums Nigel Hayes, Bronson Koenig, Zak Showalter, Jordan Hill, Vitto Brown and Ethan Happ who will be joined by some promising recruits; and

WHEREAS, yet again, the coaching staff and players brought the state and city along with them on their wild catawampus ride and brought incredible pride to all of us as we watched the season unfold;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council express their deep appreciation and congratulations to the coaching staff and players for not only their success on the court but for representing the University, City, and State with their fun-loving friendships, sportsmanship, vocabularies and character; as well as their diligence, maturity and moxy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council wish the coaching staff and players great success into the next season and wish all of the players leaving the university continued success in the next stage of their lives and careers.