

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Text

File #: 73561, Version: 1

Title

Presentation of the 2022 Rev. James C. Wright Human Rights Award by the City of Madison Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) and the Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division (EOD) to Wayne Strong (Posthumously).

Body

The Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies the Rev. Wright's dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values. The Equal Opportunities Commission has selected Wayne Strong (Posthumously) as the recipient of the 2022 award.

Unfortunately, Wayne passed away earlier this year, and the award will be presented to Wayne's wife, Terri.

Wayne was passionate about all forms of justice. He knew that young African American men needed positive role models and activities to succeed in spite of the racism and barriers that they experienced. Thirty years ago, as a neighborhood police officer, Wayne got involved in the Southside Raiders Youth Football and Cheerleading Program. He kept the program going long after he left the force. He was there for all youth, even those who were justice-involved, had trouble in school, or had fallen through the cracks in other ways.

There are not enough words that can describe how Wayne Strong positively impacted our community. With this award and for keeping in the tradition of what Reverend Wright stood for in our community, The Equal Opportunities Commission and Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division would like honor Wayne Strong and say thank you for his service to our community.

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013; Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014; Anthony Timmons, 2015; Annette Miller 2016; Brandi Grayson, 2019; Tamora (Tami) Fleming, 2020; and Carmella Harris, 2021.