

City of Madison

City of Madison Madison, WI 53703 www.cityofmadison.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 29892 Version: 1 Name: Congratulating the 2012-2013 Madison Memorial

Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 4/22/2013 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: 4/30/2013 **Final action:** 4/30/2013

Enactment date: 5/3/2013 Enactment #: RES-13-00308

Title: Congratulating the 2012-2013 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the

WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Sponsors: Mark Clear, Paul R. Soglin, Chris Schmidt, Scott J. Resnick, David Ahrens, Shiva Bidar, Maurice S.

Cheeks, Joseph R. Clausius, Lauren Cnare, Denise DeMarb, Sue Ellingson, Steve King, Larry Palm, Matthew J. Phair, Marsha A. Rummel, Paul E. Skidmore, John Strasser, Lisa Subeck, Michael E.

Verveer, Anita Weier, Ledell Zellers

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/30/2013	1	COMMON COUNCIL	Adopt Under Suspension of Rules 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, and 2.25	Pass
4/22/2013	1	Council Office	RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT UNDER SUSPENSION OF RULES 2.04, 2.05, 2.24, & 2.25 - MISC, ITEMS	

Fiscal Note

No appropriation required.

Title

Congratulating the 2012-2013 Madison Memorial Boys Swimming and Diving Team on winning the WIAA Division 1 State Title.

Body

WHEREAS, the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming and diving team capped off an undefeated 2012-13 season by capturing the school's third straight and 13th overall WIAA Division 1 state title; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans won their seventh state title in nine years following a commanding performance that earned them first-place honors with 316 points from 12 Spartan swimmers; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans' performances were led by a cadre of seniors, with Nick Menninga claiming victory in the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard freestyle, Jeremy Temprano winning the 200-yard individual medley and significant contributions from seniors Henry Patterson, Ben Immerfall, Eli Gomez and Anthony Walker; and,

WHEREAS, the Spartans, for a second year in a row, claimed victories in all three relays, winning the 200 Yard Medley Relay, winning the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay; and concluding the meet by breaking the state record for a second year in a row in the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay with a time of 3:04.89, besting last year's mark by over a second; and,

File #: 29892, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the Spartans were ably led to the team championship by Coach Paul Eckerle and his Assistant Coaches, Karl Richters and Michael Drives, all former Spartan state champions in their own right,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council congratulates Coach Paul Eckerle, Coach Karl Richters, Coach Michael Drives, Diving Coach Aaron O'Neill and the entire Spartan boys swimming and diving team on their successful season and Division 1 State Championship, adding another banner to the pool wall; and,

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Common Council recognizes the support of the parents, Spartans girls swimming and diving team, student body, and all Spartan fans during the championship season.