

City of Madison

Meeting Minutes - Approved TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?	 5:00 PM	Virtual Meeting
	Who does not have a voice at the table? How can policymakers mitigate unintended consequences?	

CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m. Brown arrived at 5:25 p.m.

Present: 11 - Charles Myadze; Barbara Harrington-McKinney; Christopher T. McCahill; Ann E. Kovich; Denise N. Jess; William F. Bremer; Robbie Webber; Patricia Bennett; Brigit E. Brown; Harald Kliems and Darrin S. Wasniewski

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Myadze moved to approve the minutes of the March 23 meeting, seconded by Kliems. With no further discussion, the motion passed by voice vote/other.

PUBLIC COMMENT

1. <u>70869</u> Public Comment for Items not on the Agenda for the April 13, 2022 Meeting

None

DISCLOSURES AND RECUSALS

None

CONSENT AGENDA

Kliems moved to approve ITEMS 2 and 3, seconded by Myadze. With no further discussion, the motion passed by voice vote/other.

ITEMS TO BE CONSIDERED

2.* 70522 A RESOLUTION authorizing a non-competitive service contract with Graef-USA, Inc. to provide consulting engineering services for maintenance of City of Madison Parking Division facilities.

Kliems moved to RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT - REPORT OF OFFICER, seconded by Myadze. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

3.* 70633 Authorizing the City's execution of a Third Amendment to Development Agreement, together with other associated agreements and documents, between the City, Beitler Real Estate Services, LLC and MDI Judge Doyle Square Apartment, LLC pertaining to the property located at 114 E. Wilson Street, which is part of the project commonly known as the Judge Doyle Square Development Project.

Kliems moved to Return to Lead with the Recommendation for Approval, seconded by Myadze. The motion passed by voice vote/other.

Registrants as follows: Supports, available for questions; Nate Gundrum, Meadow Ln North, Minneapolis MN; J P Beitler, Skokie Blvd, Northbrook IL

4. <u>70618</u> Authorizing a noncompetitive contract with New Flyer industries for up to 46, potentially all electric, Bus Rapid Transit Vehicles and approving roadway geometry for the East-West Bus Rapid Transit project.

Metro General Manager Justin Stuehrenberg provided verbal reports and, along with Transportation Director Tom Lynch and Transportation Planner Mike Cechvala, was available for questions. Bremer moved to RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT - REPORT OF OFFICER, seconded by Webber. After much discussion, the motion passed by voice vote/other.

Registrants as follows: Support, does not with to speak; Nicholas Davies, Richard St

5. <u>70626</u> Approving roadway geometry for the reconstruction of Lake Mendota Dr. from Baker Ave. to the City of Madison limits. (19th AD)

Engineer Jim Wolfe with City Engineering provided verbal reports and, along with Ped/Bike Administrator Renee Callaway, was available for questions. Alder Furman spoke on his concerns.

Barbara Harrington-McKinney leaves at 7:00 p.m. A new roll call vote is shown to reflect this:

Present - 10 - Charles Myadze; Christopher T. McCahill; Ann E. Kovich; Denise N. Jess; William F. Bremer; Robbie Webber; Patricia Bennett; Brigit E.Brown; Harald Kliems; Darrin S. Wasniewski Excused - 1 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney

Registrants as follows: Oppose, wish to speak; Lesa Reisdorf, Camus Ln; David Eberhard, Lake Mendota Dr; Tanya Cunningham, Lake Mendota Dr; Jeffrey Bauer, Minocqua Crescent; Kate Eberhard, Lake Mendota Dr; Kristen Slack, Lake Mendota Dr; Herman Felstehausen, Merrill Springs Rd; Linda Nelson, Lake Mendota Dr; Robert Nelson, Lake Mendota Dr; G.Patrice Kennedy, Lake Mendota Dr; Angela Young, Lake Mendota Dr; Thomas Kneubuehl, Lake Mendota Dr; Carol Michalski, Lake Mendota Dr; Jana Stewart, Lake Mendota Dr; Mark Redsten, Lake Mendota Dr; Peggy Scallon, Lake Mendota Dr; Leslie Herje, Lake Mendota Dr; Roy Christianson, Lake Mendota Dr; Oppose, does not wish to speak; David Van Sickle, Lake Mendota Dr; Sandra Larson, Lake Mendota Dr; Elizabeth Bauer, Minocqua Crescent; Herman

Baumann, Lake Mendota Dr; Alice Erickson, Spring Ct; Jeffrey Prey, Lake Mendota Dr; Jessica Harrison, Lake Mendota Dr

Support, does not wish to speak; Donald Lauffer, Lake Mendota Dr; Neither support nor oppose, does not wish to speak; Jim Mankopf, Lake Mendota Dr

Kliems moved to RECOMMEND TO COUNCIL TO ADOPT - REPORT OF OFFICER,

accorded by Webber After come discussion Brower moved a substitute

		motion to have sidewalk on one side only between Capital Ave and Norman Way, seconded by Myadze. The substitute motion failed by the following roll call vote:
		Ayes: 2 - Patricia Bennett; William F. Bremer Noes: 6 - Charles Myadze; Christopher T. McCahill; Denise N. Jess; Brigit E. Brown; Harald Kliems; Robbie Webber Excused: 1 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney Non Voting: Ann E. Kovich and Darrin S. Wasniewski
		The original motion passed by the following roll call vote:
		Ayes: 7 - Charles Myadze; Christopher T. McCahill; Denise N. Jess; William F. Bremer; Robbie Webber; Brigit E. Brown and Harald Kliems
		Noes: 1 - Patricia Bennett
		Excused: 1 - Barbara Harrington-McKinney
		Non Voting: 2 - Ann E. Kovich and Darrin S. Wasniewski
6.	<u>52830</u>	Members of TC and TPPB update on TPPB
		None
7.	<u>60440</u>	General announcements by the Chair (for information only; not for discussi
		None
8.	<u>60439</u>	Commission member suggestions for items on future agenda (for information only; not for discussion)

Please see the proposed 4/27/22 list in Legistar.

ADJOURNMENT

Webber moved to adjourn, seconded by Kliems. The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS (most recent meeting minutes electronically attached, if available)

07828Transportation Policy and Planning Board (TPPB)
Greater Madison MPO (MPO)
Dane County's Specialized Transportation Commission (STC)
Downtown Coordinating Committee (DCC)
Joint Campus Area Committee (JCAC)